NFL

Ereck Flowers doesn’t miss those ‘toxic’ Giants

Ereck Flowers doesn’t miss the Giants. He’s thrilled to be gone from, in his words, a “toxic” situation.

“Nobody’s more happy not to be here than me,” he said with a laugh after he lost in his return to MetLife Stadium, 24-3, as a member of the Redskins. “I don’t care for it here.”

The Giants and their fans probably don’t miss him, either. The Giants used the ninth-overall pick in the 2015 draft on Flowers. But he was a colossal flop at left tackle, and didn’t do much better on the right side, either, after the addition of Nate Solder prior to last season. He became the face of an inept offensive line, frequently booed and criticized.

“I wanted to win [in my return], it didn’t come out, but we get another chance down the road,” Flowers said. “Being here for me was just toxic, on the field, off the field. It doesn’t fit me.”

Flowers didn’t pinpoint what exactly was toxic.

“You name it, everything,” he said. “Not teammates. I liked my teammates in my time there. I think they had my back.”

Flowers was cut last October by the Giants and picked up by the Jaguars. He signed with the Redskins and has become their starting left guard, a new position he has taken to.

“I like it. I like physicality,” Flowers said. “That’s more of my thing. I’m just trying to get better at it.”