Lifestyle

Woman divorces ‘video game addicted’ husband for their wedding DJ

A woman divorced her husband and started dating the DJ at her wedding.

Megan Willis, 26, met Mark Stone, 49, at a bar in Maryland and eventually hired the man to DJ her July 2016 wedding ceremony.

But once the marriage went sour, Willis began confiding in the DJ.

“My marriage ended because I was not fully happy and not getting what I needed out of it,” she told the Daily Mirror.

“My ex was addicted to a video game that basically became his life and I was basically non-existent.”

Willis told the site she realized her marriage wasn’t working while living with her husband in Saratoga Springs, NY, as a newlywed.

A year later, she was back home in Maryland and saw Stone again at a bar, where she shared her relationship woes with him.

“Talking with Mark really led me to the realization that I shouldn’t have to beg my husband for attention,” Willis said.

“Mark was just a friend, yet every day he took time to check in on me. We both really enjoyed our chats no matter how silly or serious they were.”

She moved to North Carolina when her divorce was finalized in 2018 and Stone followed suit.

“At first I had the ‘Oh God, are you falling for him?’ thought, and after that it was, ‘Can this even work?’ and then, ‘Will people think I’m some gold digger?’” Willis said.

“Being together, all negative thoughts went away. I’m an older soul and he’s a young soul, so it’s almost like we meet in the middle and it’s perfect.”

The couple said they plan to have kids, which will require Stone to reverse his vasectomy.

They said they’ve overheard people whispering about their relationship, but that it doesn’t faze them.

“We really don’t care what other people think. We’re happy and our relationship works and that’s all that matters to us,” Willis said.