US News

See it: 5-year-old Illinois girl outruns charging coyote

A 5-year-old girl in Illinois outran a coyote that charged at her in front of her family’s home in a wild caught-on-video encounter.

Little Christine Przybylski was approached by the wild animal as she neared her front-yard tree swing in Villa Park on Tuesday, footage shows.

“I decided to go to the swing,” the youngster told WLS.

“When I went to the swing, he run [sic] by and I was like, going, and then I was like ‘Oh my god.'”

Home surveillance footage shows the animal circle the tree then dart at her, coming close enough to brush against her.

“I feeled [sic] its ear,” she said. “It almost bited [sic] my rib,” she told the network.

Christine then darted away with the coyote close behind. But as she reached her driveway, the animal stopped in its tracks and retreated back to the yard, the footage shows.

She then ran inside and alerted her mom.

“We heard the scream,” said her mother, Elizabeth Przybylski

“She came in with this wild story. He really pursued her violently, and I’m so glad she got away.”