MLB

‘Next David Wright’: Mets’ Captaincy could be in Pete Alonso’s future

It seems just a matter of time until Pete Alonso catches Aaron Judge for the MLB rookie home-run record. The Mets first baseman has 50 home runs, two shy of Judge’s mark, which he set just two years ago.

“It would mean the world,’’ Alonso said before the Mets’ 5-4 extra-inning walkoff win over the Marlins at Citi Field, in which he went 0-for-5 with two strikeouts. “I think there’s been a little over 19,000 baseball players to ever play the game, and to be the only one [to get there], that would be miraculous.”

But it’s not just the power that has stood out to his teammates and manager Mickey Callaway.

Callaway marveled at Alonso’s leadership skills and made a case for the 24-year-old to be the NL MVP and team’s next captain — eventually.

“He’s the next David Wright in this organization, there’s no doubt in my mind,’’ Callaway said. “He’s a superstar. People are drawn to him. There’s a reason why.

“He definitely has all the attributes. I can’t say it’s going to happen, but if anybody can fulfill that role, Pete Alonso could.”
As for the MVP honors, Callaway insisted if Alonso breaks the rookie homer record, “[The writers] have to consider him.”

Alonso is considered unlikely to win the award, however, with the Brewers’ Christian Yelich, the Braves’ Ronald Acuna Jr. and the Dodgers’ Cody Bellinger the favorites.

“I didn’t say I wanted to be a leader and I don’t want to assume a position,’’ Alonso said. “I just want to be myself, be Pete, and help my teammates get better.”

The season will likely end in disappointment, as the Mets staved off elimination from playoff contention for one more night.

Alonso didn’t let that reality get him down.

“I wouldn’t say it’s bittersweet at all,’’ Alonso said of his success coming in a year that will almost certainly be without a postseason appearance. “This has been a miraculous year for me. I wouldn’t change anything that’s happening for the world. I understand there’s some growing pains, but nothing can happen overnight.”

Alonso called the season “unforgettable” and “the most fun year I’ve ever had playing baseball.’’

He still remembers how it began.

“I left a question mark going into spring training,’’ Alonso said. “I just wanted to prove to myself and prove to the organization and this team that I could be a big league ballplayer. They didn’t have to call me up. I wanted to be able to produce and show I could help this team. I did that and want to continue to do that. The mission stays the same.”