NFL

The coach tortured by Giants’ Eli Manning-Daniel Jones switch

The Giants’ changing of the quarterback guard has been agonizing for the guru who helped mold Daniel Jones and Eli Manning.

“To say the least,” Duke head coach David Cutcliffe told the Charlotte News & Observer, “an emotional time for me obviously with relationships with both quarterbacks in New York.”

Cutcliffe was Manning’s head coach at Ole Miss, and watched Jones emerge from a Duke walk-on to the sixth-overall pick in the NFL draft. He also mentored Peyton Manning at Tennessee.

“I’m certainly more concerned at this point for Eli,” Cutcliffe said in a video statement, after initially declining to comment on the move. “I don’t know the circumstances. I want to learn a little bit more. I know that he has been the face of that franchise.”

The Giants are 0-2, and the 38-year-old Manning has struggled alongside mostly mediocre teammates over the past few seasons. So head coach Pat Shurmur made the decision Tuesday to give Jones the reins.

But that doesn’t make it any easier for Cutcliffe.

“If this is the end, and I have no idea what’s next for Eli Manning, I hope he focuses on all the great things that he’s accomplished,” Cutcliffe said.

As for Jones, Cutcliffe said, “Absolutely I’m excited for Daniel, praying that Daniel gets off to a great start. That’s important in your career. But I know he’s tough enough to take what comes. So he’ll be just fine.”