US News

Justin Trudeau won’t say if he’ll resign over ‘brownface’ scandal

Canada Prime Minister Justin Trudeau dodged a question about whether he should resign for dressing up in “brownface” in his younger years.

“I think there are people who’ve made mistakes in this life and you make decisions based on what they actually do, what they did, and on a case-by-case basis, I think,” Trudeau told the throng of reporters aboard his campaign plane Wednesday. “I deeply regret that we, that I, did that, I should have known better but I didn’t.”

Trudeau apologized after photos surfaced showing him dressed in “brownface” makeup during an “Arabian Nights” party at the West Point Grey Academy in Vancouver, where he was teaching at the time. He also admitted to sporting “brownface” during a high school talent show.

A third instance of Trudeau in the racist makeup emerged on Thursday.