Tennis

Kim Clijsters, 36, coming out of tennis retirement after 7 years

Kim Clijsters watched Serena Williams’ latest amazing tennis comeback — and now she’s going to try to pull off her own, with two more kids at home and after several more years on the sideline.

Clijsters, the 36-year-old four-time Grand Slam champion and mother of three, stunningly announced Thursday her intention to come out of retirement and return to the WTA Tour in 2020.

The former world No. 1 has been on a seven-year hiatus since retiring in late 2012.

“I don’t really feel like I want to prove something. I think for me it’s the challenge,” Clijsters said on the WTA Insider Podcast. “The love for the sport is obviously still there. But the question is, am I capable of bringing it to a level where I would like it to be before I play at a high level of one of the best women’s sports in the world? I want to challenge myself and I want to be strong again. This is my marathon.”

Clijsters retired for the first time in 2007 at the age of 23, plagued by injuries and eager to start a family with husband Brian Lynch. She gave birth to their daughter, Jada, in early 2008.

Clijsters returned in 2009 after a 26-month hiatus and won her second U.S. Open (she won her first major at the 2005 U.S. Open) as an unranked player in only her third tournament back. Clijsters beat Williams in the semifinals in a match best remembered for Williams’ tirade against a lineswoman who called her for a foot fault. Clijsters became the first mother to win a Grand Slam title since Evonne Goolagong at Wimbledon in 1980.

Kim Clijsters, with daughter Jada, holds the trophy after winning the US Open in 2010.
Clijsters holds daughter Jada after winning the 2010 US Open.Anthony J. Causi

The Belgium native defended her title at Flushing Meadows the following year and then won the Australian Open in 2011 en route to topping the world rankings for the first time since 2006. She retired again after the 2012 U.S. Open and later worked as as a tennis commentator and part-time coach. Her son Jack was born in September 2013, and son Blake followed in October 2016.

Clijsters said she has been considering a return to the tour for the past two years.

“I feel like I’ve had more energy these last six months or so than I’ve had in the last two years because I’m taking care of myself better,” Clijsters added. “Even if I don’t make it, this whole process has been so worth it for me to get back into a good routine.”

The WTA said Clijsters, as a former top-ranked player, can receive unlimited wild cards at its tournaments. (Paging Justin Henin.)

Williams, who is 21 months older than Clijsters, was out of action for most of 2017 and early 2018 as she gave birth to daughter Olympia, and has reached four of seven Grand Slam finals during this comeback — though she is 0-4 in those matches.

“At 36 years old, I feel like I’m too young to be retired,” Clijsters said. “And with so many inspirational athletes and moms competing, I can’t wait to get back on the match court and see what’s possible after having three children.”