NFL

Giants’ Jabrill Peppers on defying odds and replacing Collins

Steve Serby takes some time for a Q&A with safety Jabrill Peppers, who is playing his first season with the Giants after being part of the Odell Beckham Jr. trade in the offseason:

Q: Why are you so proud of yourself for realizing your NFL dream against all odds?
A: Just like anyone from an urban area, it’s a lot to get caught up in that sidetracks a lot of people. And growing up, you see that, you see guys who are good at basketball, good at football, track stars, baseball players, whatever it is, but it’s always something that knocks them off that path that they need to continue down.

And I just was so proud of myself when I look back on it because it’s been countless times that one mistake can change your life forever, alter it for the worse. I wasn’t perfect, I made some mistakes, but they weren’t grave mistakes that impacted my life goal. And to be playing professionally, where I grew up, where I go back to East Orange High School or I’m having a book bag drive and things like that, when I see people that I grew up with congratulating me. … “You really made it out,” and all these things, it kind of makes you really sit back like, “Damn, I really did make it.”

Now you can’t get complacent and comfortable because now I have goals that I want to stay on top. But you can definitely appreciate the milestone what it is, because even if you’re not from an urban area that’s crime, gangs, … one point something percent of all college athletes make it to the league. So you’re constantly fighting an uphill battle no matter what it is, so I think that’s definitely why I look back and I’m proud of myself.

But I haven’t been proud of how I’ve been playing since I got here

Q: In what way?
A: I hold myself to a very high standard, and I just haven’t played at that standard. … Good is not good enough.

Q: Why do you feel like the best is yet to come for you?
A: I feel like this has been a growing process for me. I’ve been learning a lot of new things, learning a lot of new systems, different positions, and I’ve seen a lot of ball in these two years that I played in the league, and I was part of an 0-16 team, so I know what that looks like.

I only won seven games last year (with the Browns), but I can tell you for certain I know what it looks like to lose. I feel as though I can kind of lead in that way when I see something that reminds me of, “OK, that’s what we were doing when I was there, we didn’t win any games,” could nip it in the bud and things like that. I haven’t really been putting up the stats I’ve been wanting to put up. But I didn’t really play that much last year. I played but I was splitting reps, so I couldn’t really get in a groove. I always make that analogy if you’re rotating quarterbacks, how can either one of them get into a rhythm? That’s why I feel like my best ball is ahead of me.

Q: Why is your mother (Ivory Bryant) so proud of you?

A: Because we had it hard, man, she’s a single mom, raised two kids. … Living paycheck to paycheck … worked two jobs while getting a master’s degree. We made it together. She’s just as much a part of this as I am. I wouldn’t be here without her instilling the values and virtues, hard work, right and wrong, good conscience. Certain things that you take for granted until you meet somebody who doesn’t have those things, and then you know like, “OK, God put a lot of good people in your life.’’ My mom’s definitely the best person that He could have put in there.

Jabrill Peppers
Jabrill PeppersN.Y. Post: Charles Wenzelberg

Q: You were 14 when your older brother Don Curtis was shot and killed. How did you find out?
A: My mom got a call from my brother’s girlfriend. She said Don’s not answering his phone. And then, my brother’s father couldn’t identify him because he had been out of his life for so long, so he couldn’t even identify if that was really my brother or not. So my mom had to go down there and identify the body, and she didn’t come back for a couple of hours, I kind of knew like the worst had happened. But you know, he always told me like that’s just the life that he was living.

Q: How devastating was it for you when you knew for a fact he was gone?
A: It was definitely devastating because even though someone tells you like, ‘This day come, do this, that and the third, take care of your mom,’ — when it actually happens. … It was just like my brother was one of the main people who told me to keep doing the football thing, that I was gifted, so the fact he can’t enjoy it with me, it hurt. But at the end of the day, I know he’s looking down on me proud, so I just got to keep making him proud.

Q: What’s your relationship with your father (Terry) now?
A: He got in a bit of trouble (weapons charges) when I was younger (7 years old), he got out (of prison) when I was 19, so we’ve just been trying to mend that relationship ever since.

Q: Where does that stand?
A: Now it’s probably the best we’ve been since he got out.

Q: How often do you speak with him?
A: Almost every other day.

Q: When was the last time you saw him?
A: After a workout before I had to report to camp.

Q: Did he ever sit down and have a heart-to-heart with you as to why he got into the trouble he got into?
A: Not really, but I’m a smart guy, I understand the streets, so it wasn’t really much he had to say, it’s just that his past caught up to him.

Q: Will he be at any games?
A: He should be, yeah.

Q: How would you describe your on-field mentality?
A: Nasty. … tenacious. … maniac. Just do anything I can to win.

Q: Give me the most maniac you’ve ever been on the field.
A: It was just one game, man, I was just hitting EVERYTHING — linemen, fullback. Like I didn’t care about penalties, getting fined. But sometimes that’s just how you got to play the way you need to play. I came from the AFC North, they pride themselves on being real physical, running, brute-force teams, you know? I’m just coming in the league, so I feel like, “All right, that’s how I got to be, then I got to get my mind and my body ready to do that.”

So when I just go out there, I just tap into a place — all the stuff that used to bother me when I was younger, all the heartaches and the pain, I just put that out there on the field. I play anxiety-free, I don’t care about making a mistake. If I mess up, I’m going to do it at 100 miles per hour … trash talking. Off the field, I know how to cut it off, especially with all the stigmas we face as NFL athletes.

Q: What drives you?

A: I love to compete. I want to be great. Naysayers, my family, my past, my experiences in life, never having nothing in life. … It’s a lot of things, man.

Q: The naysayers?
A: I love when someone tells me I can’t do something, because then that makes me want to go out there that much harder and prove to you and everyone else who said I can’t do it that I can do It. And always been like that my whole life — like, “Oh, you’ll never get a scholarship to college.” OK. “Oh, you’ll never go to the league.” OK. Even in high school, when I transferred schools (from Don Bosco Prep to Paramus Catholic), “You’ll never win another state championship.” OK. I don’t really care what people say, but I love proving people wrong. I don’t know if that makes sense.

Q: What would you say to Giants fans about whether you can replace Landon Collins?
A: I mean, Landon’s a great player. He had a phenomenal couple of years in the league. But, I would just tell them good players come and go, this league is a business. Don’t be so indulged in the good players that you lost that you miss out on some of the good players that you may have a chance of rooting for. But I just plan on doing my due diligence, coming in here playing hard, fast, smart, making plays on the ball, and do whatever I can do to help this team win ballgames.

Q: Whatever pops into your mind — Gregg Williams?
A: Probably one of my favorite coaches that I’ve played for. Brute honest guy, gonna get the best out of you. Competitive, aggressive, and he taught me a lot of ball and a lot of knowledge.

Q: So the Jets’ defensive players will enjoy playing for him?
A: Oh yeah, definitely.

Q: Sam Darnold?
A: I think he’s raw, I think he’s coming into his own, and I think he’s going to surprise a lot of people these next couple of years.

Q: What impressed you about him when you played against him last season?
A: His poise. Even when things weren’t going well for him, he stayed cool, calm, relaxed. They kind of specified the playbook to him too so he was real comfortable back there.

Q: Baker Mayfield?
A: That’s Big Money right there (smile). Fiery guy. Will to win is through the roof. … Competitive.

Q: Saquon Barkley?
A: Same way. He’s more calm, Bake is more riled up. Saquon talks, but when he stops talking and just goes to work, man, it’s one of the damndest things to see. And I get to practice against him every day, so that’s definitely dope. He’s just uber-athletic, freak of nature. … Like they just built him in a shop somewhere (laugh). His legs are too big for him to be that fast and quick and nimble. Great center of gravity. Core strength. He runs with his pads over his toes. Catch out of the backfield. Complete player.

Q: Le’Veon Bell?
A: He’s damn near the same way. He has a bit of a different running style, but he’s going to talk to you, he’s going to compete. And he does the music thing too (smile).

Q: Who’s the better rapper, you or him?
A: I like some of his stuff, I’m not going to lie. But I think I can definitely give him a run for his money (smile).

Q: You had a recording studio in Cleveland, do you still have one now?
A: I still have it, yeah.

Q: Dexter Lawrence?
A: Big body. He’s so nimble to be as big as he is, he’s a giant human being. But he has great feet, great motor. … He’s going to be a force in that middle for us.

Q: Lorenzo Carter?
A: I remember Zo from my high school years, we were all like at the top of the class. Big, strong, long athlete. Very good feet, can play in space. Can play outside backer, rush D end, versatile guy.

Q: Jackrabbit (Janoris Jenkins)?
A: That’s my dawg. Cool, calm, collected, poised, confident, leadership skills, he keeps things fun, so when it’s time to work it’s time to work.

Q: DeAndre Baker?
A: Young gun, fast, athletic, makes good plays on the ball, tough.

Q: What do you like better: kickoff or punt return?

A: Punt return.

Q: Why?
A: You just got to make one guy miss. You need blockers, but you don’t really need blockers, you just need leverage.

Jabrill Peppers
Jabrill PeppersN.Y. Post: Charles Wenzelberg

Q: One tight end or wide receiver in the history of the NFL, would you have wanted to face?
A: I always wanted to play against Gronk (Rob Gronkowski). I never really got a chance to play against him. People say he’s faster than what he looks like on film, and of course he’s a big body. At the tight end position, he arguably had one of the greatest careers. And I’m a competitive guy, so I always want to cover the best, play against the best just to see how I’ll stack up. To be the best you got to play against the best. But caught him a year too late. … But who knows with these guys? They might come back. Look at Antonio Gates.

So Gronk, you got one more year, baby (laugh). Some people don’t like that challenge. They don’t want to lose, they don’t want to look bad. I don’t care about looking bad. I’m going to go hard, and if he’s better than me that day, he’s better than me that day.

Q: If you could pick the brain of any DB other than (idol) Charles Woodson?
A: I’ll probably have to go with Sean Taylor. Or Champ Bailey.

Q: Athletes in other sports you admire?

A: LeBron, KD, Kyrie. … I grew up watching Kyrie. … Alex Rodriguez … Messi … Ronaldo.

Q: Three dinner guests?
A: Martin Luther King; Lil Wayne; Rihanna.

Q: Favorite movie?

A: Boyz n the Hood.

Q: Favorite actors?
A: Cuba Gooding Jr.; Denzel (Washington).

Q: Favorite actress?
A: Taraji P. (Henson).

Q: Favorite singer/entertainer?
A: Chris Brown.

Q: Favorite meal?
A: Steak, lobster, macaroni and cheese.

Q: Message for Giants fans?
A: We’re going to come ready to rock every Sunday.