Golf

Tiger Woods will return in New Jersey after British Open embarrassment

Tiger Woods will return to action in New Jersey.

Woods announced on Wednesday that he will be competing in the first two legs of the FedEx Cup playoffs. He will tee off at the Liberty National Golf Club in Jersey City on August 8-11 for the Northern Trust, followed by the BMW Championship in Chicago. It will be just the second time all year Woods has competed in consecutive weeks. He last did it in February at Riviera and Chapultepec in Mexico.

Woods, 43, has committed to playing a reduced schedule in order to preserve his health. After missing the cut at the British Open about three months after winning the Masters, Woods opted to skip last week’s WGC-FedEx St. Jude Invitational in Memphis.

“This year I made a conscious effort to cut back on my schedule to make sure that I don’t play too much,” Woods said at the British Open. “I want to play here as long as I possibly can. And you have to understand, if I play a lot, I won’t be out here that long.

“So it’s understanding how much I can play, prepping how much I do at home and getting ready. And that’s the tricky part is trying to determine how much tournament play I need to get the feel for the shots and also understanding where my body is.”

Woods is currently ranked 27th in the FedEx Cup standings and must be in the top 30 after the BMW Championship to qualify for the season-ending Tour Championship, which Woods won last year.