NFL

Giants rookie Ryan Connelly already taking on leadership role

Ryan Connelly is not your average late-round rookie.

The Giants selected the Wisconsin product in the fifth round of this spring’s draft to provide much-needed depth at inside linebacker with the expectation he would make his living on special teams.

Connelly already is proving he’s capable of more.

With Alec Ogletree already entrenched at one inside linebacker spot, the second is up for grabs. B.J. Goodson, who is entering his fourth season, and Tae Davis, who is entering his second, came into training camp as the primary competitors for that spot. Connelly is working with the second team, where he already is commanding the huddle.

“Being a leader anywhere is always a goal of mine,” Connelly said Tuesday before practice. “If I can show the guys on the second unit I know what I’m doing, that I can be at the right spot at the right time, I think that helps us as a team.”

In particular, Connelly’s coaches have been impressed by his speed, which has allowed him to beat blockers to the edge and to be effective in coverage — an area Goodson struggles with.

“I went out and worked him out and you could see the explosion in his lower half,” inside linebackers coach Bill McGovern told The Post. “You could see the suddenness when he can redirect it and accelerate and come out of breaks. It’s one of the things we liked about him.”

Connelly put that on display while in coverage Tuesday, nearly intercepting an ill-advised pass by fellow rookie Daniel Jones. Connelly said he believes he can be a three-down linebacker and contribute on defense right away. The Giants will give him every opportunity to prove himself correct. Connelly will get some work with the starters in the coming week to see how he fares with the veterans.

“Just [want] to be able to show I have an understanding of the defense and that I know what’s going on and the other guys can trust that I know what’s going on,” Connelly said. “I think that’s the biggest thing, showing the older guys and the veterans that they can trust me out there and I know what I’m doing.”

If he can hold his own in coverage, the Giants believe Connelly has every chance to contribute on defense this season. For now, he is fourth on the depth chart, but that appears poised to change.