NFL

Baker Mayfield’s defense of Odell Beckham tears down Giants and their fans

As if Odell Beckham Jr. can’t talk himself into enough controversies.

Baker Mayfield offered a defense of Beckham during an in-depth ESPN piece on the Browns quarterback, and in doing so, appeared to take a dig at the Giants franchise as well as their loyal fans.

“He’s here to work, and he wants to be surrounded by people who love and support him and allow him to be himself,” Mayfield said. “He’s here to play in front of fans who actually care, who will actually show up to every game and pack the stadium and love him for who he is.”

Beckham, 26, had a mixed relationship with Giants fans, who were in awe of his talent and frustrated by the controversies he brought upon the team. The Giants traded Beckham to the Browns this offseason in a divisive deal, fitting for Beckham’s time in New York.

“I just felt with the Giants I was just stuck at a place that wasn’t working for me anymore,” Beckham told Complex UK recently. “I felt like I wasn’t going to be able to reach my full potential there — mentally, physically, spiritually, everything I felt capable of doing, I just couldn’t see it happening there. So I think allowing me to be in an environment where I can be myself and give it a different approach, I feel like my football will benefit.”

According to Mayfield, Beckham didn’t have the freedom to be himself with the Giants and fans had a very narrow perception of the star wide receiver. With the Browns, Mayfield claims, the Dawg Pound will always show up and support him in any circumstance.

The Browns will not cross paths with the Giants in the upcoming 2019-20 season. If they did, tensions would surely be high.