MLB

Edwin Encarnacion shows Yankees he can flash the leather

The Yankees acquired Edwin Encarnacion for his right-handed bat, but he showed some agility at first base in Friday’s 4-1 win over the Astros, making a pair of diving plays.

With a runner on second and one out in the third, Encarnacion got to Michael Brantley’s grounder and James Paxton got to the bag in time to get the out, while colliding with Brantley.

After a walk to Jose Altuve later in the inning, Encarnacion made another outstanding play to his right to get Yordan Alvarez to end the third and keep the game scoreless.

“The reports we had on him were really good,’’ Aaron Boone said of Encarnacion’s defense. “On [the first play], we don’t want him going that far over [to his right]. The other one was a great play. He was a young stud prospect when I was in the big leagues in Cincinnati, an up-and-coming third baseman. He’s got those kinds of skills.”

More importantly, the Yankees may have avoided two more injuries when both Paxton and Aroldis Chapman took scary falls making plays in the field.

“I was fine,’’ Paxton said. “I couldn’t stop my momentum going to first.”

Paxton said he was OK after the awkward play with Brantley.

Chapman stayed down briefly after getting to Altuve’s slow roller in the ninth.

Boone and trainer Steve Donohue checked on Chapman, who then struck out Alvarez to end the game on a 100 mph fastball.

“Initially, the indications are good,’’ Boone said. “Chapman said he’s fine. He moved pretty quick after that ball.”


Domingo German threw 25 pitches Friday in his first bullpen session since going on the injured list with a left flexor strain. According to Boone, the right-hander could rejoin the rotation soon following a rehab start in the minors next week.

“We kind of have a little outline of when we think he’s back in,’’ Boone said. “I think there’s a chance he rejoins the rotation before the All-Star break. But [Friday] went really well.”

German said he remains encouraged about his progress.

“I haven’t felt anything,’’ German said through an interpreter. “I felt stronger and more stability on the mound. I think I’m progressing very well. I think I’m getting close to the point where I can pitch in a game.”

He is expected to throw another bullpen session Monday.

— Additional reporting by Greg Joyce