NBA

Dirk Nowitzki’s retirement is a food and travel bonanza

From what it sounds like, the life of retirement is treating Dirk Nowitzki like a king.

Nowitzki’s time with the Mavericks came to a close in April with the German big man retiring after a 21-year career, all with Dallas.

Nearly two months later, the recent retiree made an appearance at Global Life Park in Arlington, Texas, to throw the first pitch for the Rangers game against Baltimore on Thursday. He made it clear he’s living it up and has no worries going into the next chapter of his life.

“It’s been everything I’ve dreamed of — drinking everything and eating everything in sight on vacation and not really worrying anything about staying in shape,” he told Mavs.com.

The gluttonous turn comes after Nowitzki played in 51 games this year, making his debut mid-December after struggling with an ankle injury. As he mostly played coming off the bench, his sights for the future became much more clear.

“I was ready for it,” he said of retiring. “This season was tough for me. I’ve moved on.”

It appears Nowitzki is off to an excellent start. He has already embarked on several vacations with his family, including trips to Mexico and Disney World, with a future trip to Europe on the books. He’s eating loads of ice cream. Just don’t expect him to stay in playing shape while he makes his way around the globe.

“I think, like I said, eventually I’m going to find a little routine, I’m going to start working out again and enjoying that,” he said. “But as of now I literally have zero motivation to go work out.”