MLB

James Paxton still worried after pitching test: ‘Felt it a little bit’

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Don’t pencil James Paxton back in the Yankees’ rotation yet.

The left-hander has been sidelined with left knee inflammation and said he “felt it a little bit” during an extended spring training start against the Tigers in Tampa on Friday, according to the Associated Press.

“I felt it a little bit, but I still was able to make my pitches, which is what I wanted to see,’’ Paxton said after his four-inning outing, during which he gave up a hit and struck out seven. “If I come in [Saturday] with more pain than I had walking in today, then we’ll have to do something. But if I come in [Saturday] and it feels the same as it did walking in today, then that’s just how I’m going to have to pitch for right now.”

Paxton had a cortisone shot on May 4, as he deals with soreness around his MCL. He said last week he didn’t believe another shot was an option if he wasn’t able to get rid of the discomfort.

As for his 55-pitch outing Friday, Paxton said: “I executed pretty well. I was able to get my fastball inside.”

Manager Aaron Boone had expressed hope Paxton could start for the Yankees next week, although he cautioned he’d have to see how Friday’s rehab start went.

“We all want it to be good to go and boom [he’s back],’’ Boone said before the Yankees’ game against the Royals at Kauffman Stadium was postponed by rain. “We hope [Saturday] he comes on strong.”

And if not?

“I’m not sure,’’ Boone said. “Those are conversations we’d have at that point.”

The manager also believes they can survive with the way their pitching staff is constructed. They announced that J.A. Happ would start the first game of Saturday’s split doubleheader, but hadn’t determined a starter for the second game, when they can add a 26th man for the roster. Chance Adams is a possible candidate to be called up.

“We’ve got nine guys in the bullpen right now, guys that can give us length,’’ Boone said. “We have to mix and match and get a little more creative, but I also feel we’re capable of handling it.”


The news was more promising on Didi Gregorius in his comeback from offseason Tommy John surgery. He was the DH in his fourth extended spring training game and is scheduled to start a rehab game Saturday with Single-A Tampa, which will begin his rehab assignment. Position players have 20 days to complete rehab once that clock starts.

“My timing [at the plate] is not there yet,’’ Gregorius told the AP. “But defensively, I’m good. [My] arm and everything feels good.’’

Boone added he was confident Gregorius could return to the Yankees before the 20 days are up, playing perhaps two or three games with Tampa and some more with Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes-Barre.

“I think there’s a good chance of that,’’ Boone said.

And Boone is looking forward to his return.

“[Gleyber] Torres has been really good at short, but Didi is such a reliable player,’’ Boone said. “And he’s a left-handed hitter in a lineup that’s been more right-handed heavy.’’


Troy Tulowitzki played his first simulated game since aggravating a left calf injury. He last played for the Yankees on April 3. Tulowitzki has been playing shortstop, second base and third base and could begin a rehab assignment this weekend.


Clint Frazier is in a 3-for-23 skid, but all three hits are home runs.