MLB

Andrew Cashner might refuse to leave if Orioles trade him

Andrew Cashner might be the only player in Major League Baseball who may refuse to leave the league’s worst team for a contender.

Cashner, who could be a trade chip down the road for the Orioles, might choose to sit out instead of leaving Baltimore if he is traded, per The Athletic.

“I wish I had a no trade clause,” Cashner told the website. “But it’s all part of where you’re at (in your career). And I think, once something comes (on the trade front), I’ll have to sit down with my family and decide what’s best for me.”

That’s far from a declaration that he won’t accept a trade. But for a veteran who could help a playoff team in the bullpen or the backend of a rotation, it’s surprising to say the least. Cashner is 4-2 with a 4.14 ERA thus far this season.

Cashner cites happiness he’s found in Baltimore as the reason behind his sentiment. When he was traded from the Padres to the Marlins in 2016, he thought about not going but ultimately did. Whether he will be traded this time is another question.

“I haven’t thought about it too much,” Cashner said, per The Athletic. “At the end of the day, I kind of control what I want to do. Whether I want to go, whether I want to stay, I’d just have to sit down with my family and find out what’s best for us.”

The Orioles are an MLB worst 15-35 after the Yankees just swept four straight games in Baltimore.