NBA

Knicks’ Mitchell Robinson has found the player he wants to emulate

Mitchell Robinson has watched some playoff games, including those between the Nets and 76ers.

And the Knicks rookie center has decided the Sixers’ Joel Embiid is the center he wants to emulate.

“He’s a competitor. He just goes at it,’’ Robinson said at an autograph appearance Thursday at the NBA Store in Manhattan. “He goes after everyone. No matter who you are, he goes after you. I really like that about him.’’

Robinson recorded a lot of blocked shots this season, but the Knicks didn’t record a lot of wins. The electric “Blocker from The Bayou” thinks their 17-65 record will rise dramatically in 2019-20 as management goes after big names in free agency.

“Hopefully we get it done,’’ Robinson said. “Hopefully we get something done here and make the playoffs next season.’’

A few hundred fans were on line Thursday to meet Robinson. On display in the NBA Store stood giant bobblehead dolls of Kristaps Porzingis and Carmelo Anthony in Knicks jerseys — selling for $600.

Robinson, at this moment, is the face of the franchise after setting the Knicks record for blocked shots by a rookie and finishing second in the NBA in per-game average (2.4).

After those accomplishments, his new agent Mayar Zokaei (his fourth rep since entering the 2018 draft) has Robinson making some appearances to get him accustomed to the limelight.

Mitchell Robinson battles Joel Embiid for a rebound during this past season.
Mitchell Robinson battles Joel Embiid for a rebound during this past season.Robert Sabo

“I’m having fun with it,’’ said Robinson, wearing a pink Chalmette (La.) High School girls’ volleyball T-shirt. “I enjoy the people who support us.’’

Robinson had been working out in New Orleans as he looks to expand his offensive arsenal after being strictly a scorer around the rim — putbacks and alley-oop dunks.

Though he hit 69% of his field goals, he never attempted a 3-point shot and took just three jump shots.

“I’m getting shots up 3-point, mid-range,’’ Robinson said. “It’s going great. They should see a little different player. I’ll be shooting some 3s next season.”

While working on his jump shot is key (Embiid has become a 3-point threat), Robinson wants to add a few pounds of muscle to his 7-foot-1, 225-pound frame.

He has already embarked on a weight-lifting program, especially working on his legs. Robinson will play about three summer-league games and will rotate his home base among Louisiana, Los Angeles, Dallas and New York.

“I want to put on some weight, but not a lot,’’ Robinson said. “I don’t want to move slow. I move pretty fast now. I just want to get stronger.’’

After the season, Knicks coach David Fizdale said he views Robinson as a future defensive player of the year candidate. Robinson likely will be named to either the league’s first or second all-rookie team — a big accomplishment for a second-round pick (36th overall).

“If I’m on it, I’ll be very happy,’’ Robinson said. “If I’m not, I won’t let it kill me. I appreciate whoever votes for me and hopefully I’m on it.’’

Fizdale had retired big men Rasheed Wallace, Patrick Ewing and Clifford Ray, among others, chat with Robinson this season. And veteran center DeAndre Jordan became a key mentor after arriving in a late-January trade.

“It was great picking their brains,’’ Robinson said. “They told me a few things they used to do. Hopefully I’ll pick up on the same things. [Jordan] told me plays from different teams. I don’t know how he did that.’’

Knicks president Steve Mills and general manager Scott Perry view the drafting of Robinson as their shining achievement during a rough year. Robinson expected nothing less.

“They said I did good,’’ Robinson said of his exit meeting. “Started off sluggish but I finished strong and they think it’s only going to go up from there. Shot-blocking is my strong point. I know how to time shots. I expected to block shots. So it didn’t surprise me.’’