Lifestyle

Mattel’s new BTS dolls are a little too creepy for some K-pop fans

Members of K-pop sensation BTS are truly “facing a new me again” as Barbie-maker Mattel unveils a first look at its new collection inspired by the Korean boy band, which hits shelves in September.

“MIC Drop, ARMY!” Mattel tweets, in a reference to the band’s 2017 hit single. “For the first time ever, we’re thrilled to show you the line of #BTSxMattel fashion dolls! Take a look at V, SUGA, Jin, Jung Kook, RM, Jimin and j-hope as dolls inspired by the Idol music video!”

Mattel had been teasing silhouettes and close-up shots of the dolls since earlier this month, but the recently shared images show the Bangtan Boys in full effect — pint-sized stage lights and all.

Mattel

A majority of fans are totally stoked on the recognition by the major American toy manufacturer. Unfortunately, some think Mattel should head back to the drawing board.

“I mean… Nice effort. I had barbies when I was a child, and I love BTS with all my heart. So… I expected more and I don’t like them, they are a little creepy,” tweets @carolinacolorad.

Others, though, can’t help but point out the sharp resemblance.

“To all the ARMY who are unhappy with the @Mattel dolls. IMO they are pretty well done. These are gonna be mass produced! Cut them a little slack, they do look like the members,” tweets @Lady_Bismuth, who also shared a group shot of Mattel’s attempt at One Direction dolls a few years go. (It’s really bad.)

BTS will hit US stadiums later this year as a part of the “Love Yourself: Speak Yourself” tour.