NHL

Key piece of Ryan McDonagh trade set for Rangers debut

Another hopeful piece of the Rangers’ future has arrived.

Libor Hajek will make his NHL debut Friday night at the Garden against the Canadiens, just over a year after the Rangers acquired the 21-year-old defenseman from the Lightning as a key part of the trade of Ryan McDonagh and J.T. Miller.

While Hajek had recorded no goals and five assists, with a minus-23, in 58 games at AHL Hartford, he believes he may have been succumbing to the pressures that come with being in a new organization.

“I was maybe trying too much to prove they made a good decision,” Hajek said Thursday after his first practice. “Sometimes I didn’t play good. That’s why, because I was trying to do too much. So I need to stay in my game.”

Rangers coach David Quinn said numbers can sometimes be misleading for a defenseman, especially in the AHL. Instead the organization focused on Hajek’s progress over the season, which led to his call-up on Thursday.

“He’s earned this opportunity,” Quinn said. “He’s a guy who can skate. I really liked him in training camp. I thought he made good decisions with the puck. He makes a good outlet pass and does a good job taking away time and space. That’s why he’s here.

“Where he is over the last month, we feel his play has warranted this opportunity.”

Hajek is the latest prospect acquired through trades at the past two deadlines to make his Rangers debut, joining Brett Howden (who was also part of the Lightning deal, with Vlad Namestnikov, a 2018 first-round pick and 2019 conditional second-round pick), Ryan Lindgren and Brendan Lemieux.

Hajek, a 6-foot-2, 204-pound lefty-shooter, was paired with Neal Pionk in practice and likely will skate with him Friday night. It was only last February that Pionk was the one getting called up to make his NHL debut and gain valuable experience down the stretch.

“I think it was a huge step in the process for this year,” Pionk said. “I’ll do everything I can to help him.”

Hajek was in the gym after Hartford’s 4-1 loss to Hershey on Wednesday night when the coaching staff pulled him into its office and gave him the news. His first call was to Filip Chytil — just as it was after he was traded last February — to talk to his fellow Czech native and new teammate, with whom he played at the World Juniors in 2018.

“He told me everything,” said Hajek, the Lightning’s No. 37-overall pick in 2016. “It’s nice to speak Czech again.”

Unlike Chytil, Hajek had a taste of the North American game before going to Hartford, having spent three seasons in the WHL. Nevertheless, there was an adjustment period this year playing with the Wolf Pack.

“Playing with men,” Hajek said. “It’s not kids anymore. They are smarter, faster, better skill. So everything’s tougher.”

Hajek said he thought he had a chance to make the Rangers when he came to training camp, but now appreciates how everything worked out.

“I’m real happy that I spent time in Hartford,” he said. “I grew up there lots. … It’s my first year pro, so still kind of getting used to it. It wasn’t the greatest season, it’s pretty tough. But I keep working hard, keep trying to play my game.”

If Hajek keeps focused on that, Quinn believes he can succeed.

“To me, his bread and butter is going to be his ability to defend and make an outlet pass and join the rush,” Quinn said. “The less responsibility he feels, the more productive he’s going to be.”