NFL

Case Keenum is not happy after Broncos’ Joe Flacco trade

Case Keenum’s job security lasted one year, and he isn’t happy about it.

The Broncos quarterback was “shocked” and “definitely disappointed” when he heard the news of the trade for Ravens quarterback Joe Flacco.

“[Broncos general manager John] Elway called me that morning and we had a great conversation, which he didn’t have to do, and I appreciated that,” Keenum told Jason Romano’s Sports Spectrum podcast. “I was definitely shocked. It was a surprise for us and … you know, I think probably for the first day or so that’s kind of what it was. You know, for us, we’re definitely disappointed. It’s not something we wanted to happen. I know that everybody’s doing their job and John feels like that was a chance for him to help the Broncos out.”

Last March, Keenum signed a two-year, $36 million deal with the Broncos to be their starting quarterback. His first season didn’t go nearly as planned. The team went 6-10, and coach Vance Joseph was fired and replaced by Vic Fangio. With little help around him, Keenum threw for 3,890 yards, 18 touchdowns and 15 interceptions, tied for the second most in the league. Now, he could either become a backup or be on a new team, according to ESPN. A trade or even release are options.

“For us, it’s another chapter in our lives, and we’re going to roll with it,” Keenum said. “We’re going to approach this like I do everything in my entire life, and that it’s not by accident this has happened. It’s just another chapter and another opportunity to overcome some adversity in my life.

“My time with the Broncos has been really special. I have enjoyed every second of it. I have been so proud to walk into that building … to represent the Broncos as their quarterback. … It was an honor.”