US News

‘I thought I was going to die’: Woman sentenced in gruesome abuse of six kids

An Idaho woman who abused six children so brutally that one of them thought she was going to die will spend up to 16 years in prison.

Prosecutors said on Thursday that Esperanza Espinoza, 30, tortured the six children in her care — ranging in age from 1 to 10 years old — with a litany of abuse, including biting and kicking them, as well as throwing them by their hair and trying to strangle them, the Idaho Statesman reports.

Canyon County Deputy Prosecutor Erica Kallin said the child abuse case was among the worst she’s seen in her career and has left the children numb, despondent and unable to trust people easily. One girl even reported that Espinoza at one point held a blade to her throat, leaving small cuts.

“I thought I was going to die,” the girl told authorities.

“I just don’t think any child should have the thought that they’re going to die,” Kallin said in court. “Much less, have it be over and over and over again.”

Espinoza, who was convicted in November of the ongoing abuse, must serve at least 11 years behind bars before she’s eligible for parole. She was arrested after an adult overhead the children discussing the abuse among themselves, the Statesman reports.

Espinoza, of Canyon County, apologized in court for abusing the children and for “hurting them in any kind of way,” she said.

“I know that the actions from my past have led up to this point, and I take full responsibility,” Espinoza said, according to The Idaho Press. “Unfortunately, I can’t go back and undo anything that’s already been done, but I can ask for forgiveness and I can repent for the things I’ve done.”

But Espinoza did provide the children with some loving, positive care, her attorney insisted, including taking them to school and a doctor’s office. She also provided the children with a home, attorney Lary Sisson said.

“Not every single moment for these children was terrible,” Sisson said. “There was some good that she did.”

The Idaho Press identified the children as Espinoza’s relatives. She started caring for them after they had endured a poor quality life at their own home, Sisson said, adding that she intended to protect them.