Sports

Lindsey Vonn reveals crash wounds after retirement announcement

Skiing has left its mark on Lindsey Vonn.

Taking to Twitter on Thursday, the skier, who crashed in the super-G during the world championships Tuesday shortly after announcing her upcoming retirement, posted a photo of her latest battle wound.

“My shiner is getting pretty shiny,” she tweeted.

This isn’t the first time this week Vonn, 34, has given her followers an inside look at injuries. Just Wednesday, the Olympian posted a photo of her eye and the bruised bottom of fellow skier Laurenne Ross.

“The aftermath of our crashes from yesterday. Can’t wait to see what color they turn tomorrow! #youshouldseetheotherguy,” Vonn captioned on Instagram.

Vonn’s final race is the downhill event on Sunday.

“Downhill is not a healthy sport, people crash all the time, every day,” Vonn said. “If you want to be healthy, you should probably do another sport.”

Last week, Vonn decided to call it a career, stating: “My body is broken beyond repair and it isn’t letting me have the final season I dreamed of. My body is screaming at me to STOP and it’s time for me to listen.”