NBA

Kevin Knox using Rising Stars snub as ‘motivation’

A disappointed Kevin Knox will use his Rising Stars snub as fodder, admitting he thought he was a lock to make it to Charlotte during All-Star Weekend.

“I thought 100 percent I was in it,’’ Knox said.

After a slow start Wednesday, beginning with an airball, Knox put up a team-high 17 points but shot just 6-of-16 and 1-of-6 from 3. He was a minus-22 in Wednesday’s 114-90 loss to the Mavericks.

“It’s definitely motivation for myself,’’ the Knicks rookie lottery pick said before the game. “It’s another chance to get better and grow, compete and learn more so I’ll be able to get to the real All-Star Game, the ultimate goal.’’

Knox, the second-youngest player taken in the 2018 draft, missed out on playing for the U.S. team, which has just 10 players, down from 12 in years past. Seven were sophomores and just three rookies — Trae Young, Marvin Bagley III and Jaren Jackson Jr. — were selected.

“I was surprised,’’ Knox said. “I watched it with my pops and cousin. You look at the list and a lot of talented, great players on there. Unfortunately I didn’t make it but I have a lot of friends on that list. I was disappointed, but I’m happy for those who did.’’

Coach David Fizdale had hoped the 6-foot-9 former Kentucky forward would get to hang with other All-Stars and planned to get LeBron James to meet with his prized building block in Charlotte.

“You always want guys to achieve certain things,’’ Fizdale said. “I thought Kevin really had a shot. Something for him to go after and drive after and challenge him more.”

Knox is shooting just 37.2 percent while averaging 12.2 points. His Real-Adjusted plus-minus is one of the worst in the NBA and the Knicks are 1-24 with him as a starter.

Lakers’ point guard Lonzo Ball will need an injury replacement, but Cavaliers rookie point guard Collin Sexton could get the nod over Knox because of his position.

If I don’t get chosen, I’ll be fine,’’ Knox said. “I’ll see family but it would be an honor.”


Dirk Nowtizki was serenaded all night in his probable final game at the Garden and produced 14 points in 11:35. The 40-year-old was given a standing ovation when he first checked in and they chanted for coach Rick Carlisle to insert him late.

“It is something special, something I will always remember,’’ said Nowitzki, who has played just 18 games because of ankle injuries.“The fans are knowledgeable and know the game. I was saying this morning, the court being lit, it is one of my favorite places to play.’’


Point guard Kadeem Allen, the Knicks’ new two-way G Leaguer, played another 18 minutes, scoring six points with three assists and a steal in his second NBA game.

Allen was with the Knicks in training camp and admitted he initially failed the conditioning test. Fizdale said he’s gone from 225 pounds in camp to 195. He is with the Knicks because of injuries to point guards Frank Ntilikina (groin) and Emmanuel Mudiay (shoulder) and Fizdale has indicated he could have a future, liking his grittiness and passing.