NHL

Former Islander wants to remain part of Rangers’ solution

The Rangers know what to expect.

“We all know what time of year this is and what that brings. It’s the same every season,” Ryan Strome told The Post in advance of Tuesday’s second-half opener at the Garden against the Flyers. “There’s going to be all sorts of talk about the [Feb. 25] trade deadline, that’s going to be all over the media and all the fans will be talking about it, and rightfully so.

“It’s exciting stuff and it’s fun for people to speculate. We all get that. But I can tell you this, and what people who aren’t in the room might not realize, but on every team that I’ve ever been on, whether it’s a rebuilding team or a Cup contender, players come in here with pride every day and to try to win every game.

“There is no doubt in our mind or our coaches’ minds that we have the ability here to make a run at making the playoffs. That’s uppermost in everybody’s mind. We have to play very well. We have to get hot. We know that. But that’s our challenge. That’s the message here.”

The Rangers, seeking their fourth straight victory, have been more competitive than expected, having gone 21-20-7 thus far. Still, the Blueshirts entered Monday night nine points out of a playoff spot with three teams over which to leapfrog in order to claim a wholly unexpected berth.

Ryan Strome battles for position against his brother, Dylan, during a recent game against the Blackhawks.
Ryan Strome battles for position against his brother, Dylan, during a recent game against the Blackhawks.Getty Images

But they had been an improved team in winning four of their past five following a soul-bruising stretch in which the Blueshirts went 5-11-5 from Thanksgiving through Jan. 10. And Strome represents a key piece of the recent improvement with his work centering the second line between Filip Chytil and Jesper Fast after having spent most of his first couple of months as a Ranger as a bottom-six right wing or center.

“It’s been about a 50-50 split throughout my career between center and wing. It’s tough for me to say which I prefer but I think I’ve played better hockey in the middle” said Strome, acquired from Edmonton on Nov. 16 for the since-waived Ryan Spooner. “Playing center here, the thing that hits me right now is that a player of my caliber can’t make risk plays on defense to try to create offense. I’m not one of those 60-70 points guys who might get some leeway.

“I’m also appreciative of this opportunity. With that comes responsibility. In Boston before the game, [coach David Quinn] told me I might be seeing a lot of Patrice Bergeron, and to be ready. I’d never really had that chance before in my career as a top-six center. So I want to make sure I can handle this and help the team.

“I want to be part of this.”

Strome, of course, was the fifth-overall selection in the 2011 entry draft, chosen by the Islanders directly ahead of centers Mika Zibanejad (six), Mark Scheifele (seven) and Sean Couturier (eight). After four middling seasons (45-81-126 in 258 games), he was traded to the Oilers for Jordan Eberle, who recorded 59 points (25-34) last year while Strome posted 34 (13-21). Strome went 1-1=2 in 18 games this year before the trade to New York.

“It’s not the same spotlight with the draft-pick issue and then in Edmonton with the numbers he had and with the way we played and missed the playoffs, but the lack of that glare, maybe, isn’t that important for me,” Strome said. “What is, is that I’m already on my third team at the age of 25 and I don’t want to keep bouncing around.

“I want to be a guy who can be counted on by my coach in key situations. I think I can play the middle, I think I can play the Swiss Army Knife role, too, be on the power play and penalty kill and be a good guy for a team, which I think I am.

“Quinney has talked to me about how he isn’t going to coach me like the younger guys, so I feel an opportunity and responsibility here with the younger guys, to let them know to appreciate every day in the NHL and enjoy it and have fun with it, while at the same time preparing properly and maintaining a strong work ethic.

“I think I can spread that message. I want to be a mentor, I want to be a leader and I want to play an important role for this team.”