US News

Polite crook carjacks woman in most Canadian crime ever

Canadians really are polite – even their criminals.

A gun-wielding, yet apologetic man carjacked a woman in Alberta, CA — but made sure she had her cell phone, purse, and lunch before driving off, according to a local report.

The very Canadian incident occurred Tuesday after the victim came across a collision between a pickup truck and a school bus while driving to work, the CBC reported.

The woman, who was only identified as Jennifer, saw one of the drivers standing on the road, so that’s when she pulled over and got out of her car to help.

“He didn’t say anything,” said the woman who described the man as having a bandanna over his face.

“He just kind of groaned and started walking toward my vehicle. At that point I knew something was definitely not OK, so I asked him, ‘What are you doing?’ and I started to run back toward my vehicle,” the victim told the CBC.

“And he started running. Then he pulled out a gun, so I just stopped, and I put my hands up and was like, ‘It’s yours,’” the woman recounted to the news outlet.

Then the car-thief took his victim into consideration.

“He asked if I had any children in the back of the vehicle. I said ‘no.’ Then he asked me if there was anything I needed, like my phone, and I said ‘Yes, if you’re going to leave me in [-4 degrees] on a gravel road, I would appreciate my phone,” she said, adding, “so he gave me my phone, my purse and my lunchbag.”

The thief even apologized before he took off in the woman’s 2012 silver Mitsubishi Outlander.

“I said, ‘Thank you [for returning my things],’ and he said, ‘I’m sorry,’ and I said, ‘That’s fine,’” Jennifer said. “I guess it was just a reaction because he was stealing my car and had a gun in my face.”

The crook remains at-large.

Local police believe the carjacking was part of a string of car heists that started a week earlier, according to the news outlet.