John Crudele

John Crudele

Business

Why bartenders make stronger drinks for customers at the bar

Dear John: Thanks for your column on pizza sizes. Slow day at the office?

Along those same lines, however, I found an interesting cocktail practice. If you have to wait for a table at a restaurant and go to the bar for a drink while you wait, you will get a better cocktail than one ordered at the table.

Usually it is less liquor or a smaller cocktail at the table.

Customers watch a bartender make their drink at the bar, and bartenders know this.

And bartenders also want a decent tip before you proceed to the dining room, so they want to make a good impression while they have the chance. Cocktails ordered at the table get a “house pour” — generally a measured amount of liquor — while customers at the bar are more likely to get a “free pour,” without the measuring glass.

It also allows the bartender a “showtime” minute to enhance your experience.

I have no stats as to the extent of this practice, but when I was a bartender, I threw in as much “showtime” as I could before my mark (that is, customer) disappeared into the dining room.

From your observations and mine, I guess the conclusion is that you should eat your pizza at the bar!

Thanks for the levity. M.D.

Dear M.D.: I’ll take your word that bartenders behave better when customers are watching.

But I’m concerned about what this means for our food, which is all prepared in secret!

If you have restaurant kitchen stories please keep them to yourself.

Dear John: Several weeks ago, my wife and I purchased on Amazon a TV wall mount from Mount-It for $139.99.

The price was right, and the reviews seemed mostly positive. I spent $350 to have it installed by my trusted electrician.

About two weeks after he installed my new mount, I noticed a screw had come loose from the hole. My electrician came over and after taking it apart told me that the part was defective.

I called the company’s support number four times and left messages. I also sent several e-mails to customer support. Ideally, I would like Mount-It to send me a working replacement part, but I have serious doubts about the reliability of this company.

There is something fishy going on with this. I think it may be some sort of front for knowingly selling defective wall mounts.

As of Nov. 19, I have not heard back from anyone at Mount-It. Amazon has agreed to refund me, but that means I must pay $200 to have the mount uninstalled.

Please help; I think I’ve been scammed. M.M.

Dear M.M.: I contacted Mount-It, and the company quickly agreed to send you replacement parts.

“We apologize that (your reader) has not been able to get hold of someone at our office. Due to high season we are a bit behind on e-mails and voicemail, again our apologies,” Mount-It said.

“We do understand why [your reader] would think he got scammed! We would love to help resolve this as soon as possible by sending replacement parts and issuing a discount on the original order due to the inconvenience and issue.”

The company just wants your original Amazon ID and proof of purchase. I sent you the e-mail address to which you can send those.