NFL

Kyle Lauletta itching for another chance with Giants

Will recent history repeat itself for the Giants and another first-year quarterback?

Davis Webb never saw any game action at the end of a lost season one year ago before eventually being released during 2018 training camp.

First-year Giants coach Pat Shurmur wouldn’t say whether Kyle Lauletta will be active Sunday at Indianapolis, but the rookie signal caller is “itching” for another crack at the playing field after not showing much during a brief NFL debut two weeks ago before returning to the deactivated list last week against the Titans.

“Absolutely. Playing, that’s what you want to do. You don’t come here to watch and stand on the sidelines. So absolutely, I hope I can get an opportunity,” Lauletta told The Post after practice Friday. “I was absolutely disappointed last week to not be [active]. I was upset. But in the end, that’s the coaches’ decision and if they feel that’s the best way to give our team the best chance to win, then I support that.

“But that’s all on me, too. I have to be better and do better to put myself in a position to be activated and to get back on the field. I’m not pointing fingers at anyone but me. It’s nobody’s fault but my own.”

Lauletta, 23, also still is awaiting resolution of the Oct. 30 reckless driving incident in which he was arrested in Weehawken, N.J., after nearly hitting a police officer with his car on his way to practice. Asked for an update Friday, Lauletta declined comment aside from saying, “I’m trying to put that in the past.”

With the Giants leading the Redskins, 40-0, two weeks ago, Shurmur sat down Eli Manning in the fourth quarter and inserted Lauletta for his initial NFL action. It didn’t go well for the team’s fourth-round pick out of Richmond. He didn’t complete any of his five passes and tossed an interception.

“I only got out there for a little bit, only got a few plays, but absolutely I want a chance to get back out there and prove and show what I can do,” Lauletta said. “It was just kind of unfortunate circumstances the last time I was in, but even those five pass plays and those reps that I had, it’s still valuable experience and you learn things.

“Like that interception, I feel like I won’t make that same mistake again. So I’m definitely looking forward to getting back out there and itching to play again.”

Following the Washington game, Shurmur hardly issued an endorsement of the rookie’s status, saying: “I feel that enough questions regarding Kyle, that those of you that were interested in seeing him, hopefully you got a chance to see what you were looking for.’’

The coach was noncommittal Friday about his quarterback plans for this weekend.

“We’ll have to see. Again, we’re gonna try to do everything we can to win the game,” Shurmur said. “I’ve said all along, he’s got a bright future. And we’ll just see where his participation is. I’ll decide based on what I know about him and what I know about our team.”

Alex Tanney, the 31-year-old journeyman with one career NFL game on his résumé, served as Manning’s backup last week against the Titans, as he had for the first 11 games this season. The Giants must decide whether to bring back Manning for a 16th season in 2019, or they could draft or sign another quarterback during the offseason.

“I don’t know what the plans are long-term, but all I can do is focus on the here and now,” Lauletta said. “As far as the future or what’s gonna happen, I try to not worry about that. That’s kind of a waste of my time to worry about that stuff right now. I’ve always been a believer in controlling what you can control and let the rest take care of itself.

“We have two weeks left and I’ve been working really hard to prepare myself to be ready in case I go in. That’s all I can do. It would be great to get some experience and get some reps, but if not, I’ll move forward and have a lot of motivation to come back even better and stronger next year.”