NBA

Joel Embiid: I haven’t been myself since Jimmy Butler trade

The Process has a new one to take on.

Joel Embiid, who sat out the 76ers’ win over the Pistons on Friday night to rest, told reporters he felt he has not been himself offensively since Philadelphia traded for Jimmy Butler last month. He is still adjusting to his new role with the team, which is 18-9 and in third place in the East.

“I haven’t been myself lately,” Embiid told Philly.com “I think it’s mainly because of the way I’ve been used, which is I’m being used as a spacer, I guess, a stretch-5, which I’m only shooting [29] percent” from 3-point range.

“But it seems like the past couple games, like with the way I play, our setup, [coach Brett Brown] always has me starting on the perimeter … and it just really frustrates me.”

The numbers show a drop in Embiid’s offensive performance since Butler joined the 76ers from the Timberwolves in November. He went from averaging 28.2 points per game to 23.8. His field goal percentage dropped from 48.4 percent to 43.1 and his 3-point percentage is down to 27.3 percent from 30.2. Embiid is also getting to the free throw line at a lesser rate.

He is spending less time around the rim to give Butler space to attack the lane.

Jimmy Butler and Joel Embiid
Jimmy Butler and Joel EmbiidGetty Images

“With the way our plays are set up, I tend to spend a lot of time on the perimeter,” Embiid said. So it’s an adjustment.”

Brown didn’t seem to agree with his star center about Butler’s impact on his game, but does feel the need to get him back on track.

“I don’t want to connect those dots,” Brown said. “But I think in general we all have to do better at creating space for Joel.”

Embiid added that he didn’t think being overworked – he is averaging four more minutes than last year – was the reason for his slide in performance and the rest he received Friday was not needed.

“My body feels great, and it’s just I haven’t been playing well,” he said.