NBA

More starting lineup changes could be coming for Knicks

NEW ORLEANS — Knicks coach David Fizdale may have another starting lineup “tweak” up his sleeve for Friday’s game against the Pelicans.

On Wednesday, Fizdale started Emmanuel Mudiay at point guard for Frank Ntilikina and Kevin Knox at small forward for Damyean Dotson. It was the second shakeup since the season opened, but it didn’t pan out, as the Thunder got off to a 19-8 start and the Knicks were routed 128-103 to fall to 4-11.

“I’m thinking about [the same unit], but I might make a tweak on you at the last second,’’ Fizdale said. “It’s not 100 percent. I may pull one out on you. I may actually tweak some things.’’

One potential scenario is pulling power forward Noah Vonleh, moving Knox to that spot and reinserting Dotson in a three-guard lineup. Dotson would give the Knicks more 3-point shooting and perimeter defense. Vonleh has started since the season’s sixth game.

Fizdale said by the 25-game mark, he may have his fivesome for the season.

“Twenty-five games, you know your team and players,’’ he said. “Hopefully by that time, we can say this is where we’re going from here.’’


In his first career start, Knox, the prized lottery pick, shot just 5 of 16, scoring 15 points. His shooting is down to 32 percent, but he said he’s not rusty from missing 16 days with a sprained ankle.

“I missed a lot of layups and floaters I know I can make,’’ Knox told The Post. “I left shots on the board, shots I know I can make and keep taking because I know they will eventually fall.’’


Center Mitchell Robinson’s New Orleans homecoming is in slight jeopardy as he was held out of practice with another sprained ankle after he stepped on Mario Hezonja’s foot in Oklahoma City while battling for a rebound.

Robinson will have at least 20 family and friends at the arena for the game. Robinson’s high school is 15 minutes from downtown New Orleans. He attended two Pelicans games in his life, getting seats in the third row.

“This will be my first game here actually playing,’’ he said. “It is special for my friends and family to watch me play, but we have to get the win. If they determine I can play tomorrow, it should be great.’’


Courtney Lee (neck) took shots during practice, but hasn’t been cleared for contact. … Fizdale said Ntilikina has a “stiff’’ right shoulder but doesn’t think it’s affecting his shot. The Knicks have termed it a bruised shoulder. Ntilikina said his left shoulder is also sore.