NFL

What has Jets’ Leonard Williams shrugging off his lack of stats

Leonard Williams may not be showing up on the official NFL stat sheet, but at least he’s saving some money.

The Jets defensive lineman came away with zeroes against the Browns last week, without a sack, tackle or quarterback hit to his name. But in the defensive line room, Williams may have had what they call “hidden production” plays.

“It’s called hidden production because it’s not showing up on the stat sheet,” Williams said Friday as the Jets finished up their preparation for Sunday’s game against the Jaguars. “If I’m running a game with the outside backer and I pick the guy really good for him and he comes free and makes a sack, that’s a hidden production example.”

The unit created their own set of fines for minor offenses, but they can be offset by racking up hidden productions that get noted when they watch film together.

Through three games this season, Williams has made six tackles. The 6-foot-5, 302-pounder is still in search of his first sack, after his only one was negated because of a holding penalty in Week 2. The Jets have eight without him.

“I’m really hungry,” said Williams, who recorded a seven of his career 12 sacks in 2016. “I know they come in bunches, so once I start getting them, they’re going to keep coming.”

Williams, who was named one of five team captains, does not keep a tally of his hidden production plays. He said it’s natural to look at stats to see how a player is doing, but does not believe they fully reflect what he has done in the trenches this season, a view coach Todd Bowles and defensive coordinator Kacy Rodgers have backed up.

Against the Browns, Williams said he “just simply didn’t get much action.” He didn’t think the Browns ran his way often, and in passing situations, he was fighting through double teams before he could get to the quarterback. Instead of getting frustrated about the double teams, Williams said he’s trying to figure out how to beat them.

“I’m not gonna say stats don’t matter completely,” Williams said. “I’m just saying if there’s a game where I didn’t get as much stats as I wanted to, it depends on how I looked on film. If I didn’t get stats but looked good on film, I was in my right spot and doing what I was supposed to do, I didn’t have any mental errors and I’m helping the guys get freed up, then that’s a good game to me.”