MLB

White Sox star’s horrifying secret surgery: ‘strangled testicle’

White Sox first baseman Jose Abreu disclosed Tuesday why he has been out since Aug. 20: emergency surgery to repair what he called a “strangled testicle.”

The club previously announced Abreu was out due to an abdominal/groin operation.

Speaking with reporters through a translator Tuesday before his team’s home game against the Tigers, Abreu said he underwent surgery Aug. 21 to repair testicular torsion.

“It was one of my testicles turned sideways and was strangled,” Abreu said.

“The doctor had to perform emergency surgery to save it. I never thought about it, but it was serious.

“I’m thankful for all the people who helped me, all the doctors and all the people in the hospital, who helped me to get better. I’m feeling good,” he added.

Chicago general manager Rick Hahn recently said he expects Abreu back in the lineup in the middle of this month, Abreu already has begun cardio work and is set to resume on-field activities next week.

Abreu, 31, leads the club in batting average (.272), home runs (22), RBIs (78), on-base percentage (.331) and hits (129).