Golf

Controversial golf star is an ‘a–hole’ who berated me: official

Ian Poulter has denied claims he unleashed a “shower of expletives” at crime author Quintin Jardine at the Scottish Open.

Jardine, a member of the host course Gullane, was marshaling on Saturday, when Poulter hit a wayward drive on the first hole.

In a letter to the European Tour, the 73-year-old, best-selling author claimed that Poulter “arrived in a shower of expletives” as he asked for the location of his ball.

“I told him and said that I had not ventured into the bush for fear of standing on it,” Jardine wrote. “I wasn’t expecting thanks, but I wasn’t expecting aggression either. He told me in essence that I should have, his reasoning being that if I stood on the ball it was a free drop, whereas if he did it was a penalty.

“Basically I take no s–t from no man. Industrial language doesn’t bother me, but truculent aggression does. I’m not asking for him to be fined, because I don’t see the point of that. However, I would like him to be reminded that even though most of the world knows you’re an a–hole, there’s no need to go proving it to the rest.”

Addressing the situation on his Twitter account on Sunday morning, Poulter disputed Jardine’s claims.

The 42-year-old said he was “extremely sad” to see the complaint and claimed he informed Jardine that “if you stand on [the ball] I can replace it without penalty.”

Poulter added in his statement: “Venting at myself like I do at times, I said a couple of choice words aimed at myself.

“I do not abuse Marshall’s. I may have done in my early years. After I played my shot I said to the Marshall, ‘I’m not frustrated at you, I just want you to know the rule in case you come across the situation again. He said, ‘OK, thanks.”

Poulter, who has a history of clashing with fans on the course, finished the tournament tied for 30th at 9-under.

The incident comes just days before The Open at Carnoustie, which begins on Thursday.