Metro

Grimm rails about his conviction at poll for GOP primary

Ex-Rep. Michael Grimm bristled Tuesday morning after voting in the GOP 11th District congressional primary on Staten Island when he was asked about his tax-fraud conviction and stint behind bars.

“You like to put the question that way and I understand why. But the people of Staten Island and Brooklyn are a little better than that,” he said angrily before minimizing his guilty plea in the case.

“I had three delivery boys and a dishwasher off the books. You don’t mention that part. You don’t mention! You failed to mention on purpose, and that’s why I think it’s a little deceitful question,” he continued after casting his ballot at PS 69 in New Springville.

When reporters persisted, he fired back: “Hold on. I’m not done, sir. It’s my turn to speak.”

Grimm, who is challenging incumbent Rep. Dan Donovan, then complained that he had been treated unfairly by the legal system.

“What they see is the fact that everyone in the history of New York City that did the exact same thing got a civil fine by the Department of Labor. Everyone!” he railed.

“For decades upon decades [they] got a civil fine. They change the rules for me because of political corruption and in my humble opinion, you can disagree, but that’s what the people think and that’s one of the reasons they are supporting me. They don’t like politics in our justice system.”

The former lawmaker then wished Donovan luck before trashing him for not fully supporting the president’s agenda.

“Look, I’m going to wish my opponent Godspeed today. I have nothing negative to say about him personally. I disagree with Dan on the issues and I don’t think that’s personal,” he said.

“To say that he refused to ban sanctuary cities because he voted against it, I think that’s not a personal attack. Or to say that he voted no every time it mattered when President Trump asked Congress for something like repealing ObamaCare or the tax bill, I don’t think that’s personal, I think that’s our record.”

Donovan, he added, “got an F rating with the NRA. Most Republicans disagree with that position, that’s not personal. So I’m sticking to the issues, I’m sticking to the record and I have nothing negative to say about him personally.”

Donovan, who was endorsed by Trump, said he liked his chances in the hotly contested primary, marked by $3 million in campaign spending and a pair of acrimonious debates.

“We’re feeling very good. We are cautiously optimistic but we’re reminding people today’s the day to vote. Reminding them I’ve served this community with honesty and integrity over the last 20 years and reminding people that the president chose me to be the candidate,” said Donovan, who has vowed to help enact Trump’s agenda if he makes it back to Capitol Hill.

But he was also quick to remind listeners about Grimm’s criminal history.

“What disqualifies him is his betrayal of our trust. In November 2014, he told us to trust him. He told us he was innocent. He told us he would be exonerated and please vote for him. Our community trusted him. They voted for him and a few short weeks later [and] he used our vote to cut a better deal with the Justice Department,” he said after voting at the On Your Mark community center in Silver Lake

Donovan, a former Staten Island DA, said he welcomed the commander-in-chief’s endorsement.

“I think the president saw the lies and deceit that was being portrayed by my opponents about his own record and about mine and he jumped in. He didn’t have to do this. But this is an important one and he’s a New Yorker himself.”

Donald Trump Jr. recorded a robocall for the incumbent, which voters began receiving Monday.

“If you’re a loyal supporter of President Trump, you’ll get Dan across the finish line,” Trump Jr. said in the taped message. “Dan’s opponent will lose a seat to Nancy Pelosi.”

Tuesday’s GOP victor will face the winner of the Democratic primary for the 11th Congressional District, which decorated war veteran Max Rose is expected to win easily.

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. in the city.