NBA

It only gets worse for J.R. Smith

OAKLAND, Calif. — J.R. Smith summed up his bounce-back performance for the Cavs in one word.

“Terrible.”

Hey, nobody argued.

Smith, the Game 1 goat who inexplicably dribbled out the closing seconds of regulation with the score tied, scored just five points on 2-of-9 shooting in 31 minutes Sunday during the Warriors’ 122-103 Game 2 Finals victory.

“I’ve got to shoot the ball better, I’ve got to defend better and be more vocal on defense,” said Smith, who heard a lot of sarcastic cheers from the crowd.

“I’m always a person who the fans like to talk to or heckle. I like it. I’d rather them do that than not acknowledge me at all. I appreciate it.”


Draymond Green insisted there was “no chance” Klay Thompson would play with a high ankle sprain.

Thompson not only played, but he started and scored 20 points.

“Being on the training table for, it felt like, three straight days, that’s something I’m not used to,” Thompson said. “But at this point in the season, any means necessary. And the ankle feels great. I won’t do much tomorrow and I’ll do a little bit Tuesday. But I’m just going to conserve all I’ve got for Wednesday because I don’t want to play with it. It’s something that you just — that you use a lot. I didn’t realize how much you use your ankle until you hurt it.”


Andre Iguodala (leg) remained out for the Warriors for a sixth straight playoff game. Iguodala missed the final four games of the Western Conference finals and now the first two of the Finals. Kerr noted how Iguodala, while not playing, remains valuable.

“He came into the huddle the other night in Game 1 with a great suggestion that we went with and it worked,” Kerr said. “Andre knows the game as well as anybody, and I always welcome his input. He’s been a great mentor for the younger guys. … He’s doing everything he can on the sidelines to help.”


Tristan Thompson was not in the best of moods. He scored 11 points and grabbed five rebounds, but did not play at all in the fourth quarter. He was asked about calls not going the Cavs’ way.

“I’m over that referee [expletive],” Thompson said.

Then later, someone asked if he felt “helpless” on defense at times. Thompson got ticked, cussed and left.

“Next question,” he said before walking away and adding, “That’s [messed] up.”