Politics

Trump: North Korean officials will deliver me letter from Kim

President Donald Trump on Thursday said the North Korean delegation meeting with Secretary of State Mike Pompeo in New York wants to travel to Washington to deliver a letter from the regime’s leader.

“A letter is going to be delivered to me from Kim Jong Un. I look forward to seeing what’s in the letter,” Trump said during a brief media gaggle at Joint Base Andrews as he prepared to head to Texas.

“They’ll probably be coming to DC on Friday to deliver a letter, I look forward to that,” the president said.

Asked if he knew the contents of the letter, Trump said, “I don’t know.”

“I think it will be very positive,” he added. “The meetings have been very positive.”

Trump also said he hopes the summit with Kim planned for June 12 in Singapore will happen.

“But I want it to be meaningful. It doesn’t mean it gets all done at one meeting,” he said. “Maybe you have to have a second or a third. And maybe we’ll have none, but it’s in good hands, that I can tell you.”

Pompeo had dinner with Kim Yong Chol, the North Korean leader’s right-hand man and the former head of the country’s spy agency, on Wednesday evening and they will continue their discussions Thursday.

Trump announced in a letter last week that he was withdrawing from next month’s summit after what he termed “hostile” comments from North Korea.

US teams are also in Singapore and North Korea talking to officials about getting the summit on track.