MMA

Conor McGregor gets angry after turning down Khabib fight

Conor McGregor said no to a last-minute fight against Khabib Nurmagomedov, according to the Russian.

Nurmagomedov has revealed that McGregor chose to not defend his lightweight belt at UFC 223 on Saturday in Brooklyn. According to Nurmagomedov, McGregor said that he wouldn’t be ready in time.

Nurmagomedov, 29, was due to fight Tony Ferguson, who has backed out after a freak accident saw him damage knee ligaments.

And Nurmagomedov has revealed that McGregor was given first refusal on the bout, but six days’ notice was too short a window to make weight.

Nurmagomedov told TMZ Sports: “My first option when Tony’s out, I tell, ‘Hey, where’s Conor? I need Conor. He’s champ. Bring this guy.’”

“When UFC call [Conor], he say, ‘Oh, I am not ready.’”

McGregor responded on Monday, saying: “These fools pull out more times than I do with my d–k.”

UFC president Dana White recently admitted that there simply wasn’t enough time for McGregor to make weight and called in UFC featherweight champion Max Holloway instead.

Nurmagomedov is confident of getting the win against Holloway and then he would like to fight UFC legend Georges St. Pierre.

“After this fight, I’m gonna ask UFC, ‘Hey, Madison Square Garden, me vs Georges St-Pierre – November. 155 pound,’” Nurmagomedov said.

Ferguson is expected to go under the knife after his knee ligament damage, with his immediate UFC future on hold.