Sports

Tiger not only big name in golf lurking behind Henrik Stenson

ORLANDO, Fla. — This entire week has felt like Henrik Stenson’s tournament to win.

He has led after all three rounds of the Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill, taking a one-shot lead into Sunday at 12-under. But he will face his biggest challenge in a final round that has potential to be a shootout with some accomplished big names chasing.

Stenson, who opened his week with and 8-under-par 64 Thursday, shot a 1-under 71 on Saturday and takes the one-shot lead over Bryson DeChambeau into the final 18 Sunday.

Rory McIlroy, who seems poised and ready to win again, methodically moved his way up the leaderboard with a 5-under 67 on Saturday, is 10-under and well within striking distance.

Justin Rose and Ryan Moore are 9-under. Rickie Fowler and Charley Hoffman are among four players at 8-under Tiger Woods is 7-under and within reach.

“I’m pretty pleased,’’ said Stenson, who finished tied for third at the Arnold Palmer Invitational in 2016, was runner up in 2015 and tied for fifth in 2014. “I’ve been close to winning [this tournament] before and hopefully I have a chance to win it [Sunday].’’

Making Sunday even more compelling for all involved is the fact Woods is lurking with a chance to make a big final-day move from behind.

“He really is what pushed me to be a better golfer,’’ DeChambeau said of Woods. “We all looked up to him with the fist pumps and the excitement he brought to the game. When I came out here he was never here and it was a sore disappointment. It was sad. He was the face of the game and he still is. We all want to play better because he’s here.”We want to show him this is what he [inspired]. So this is like a tribute to him.’

DeChambeau, who’s seeking his second career PGA Tour win, also took note of Stenson’s veteran confidence while they were paired together Saturday, which they will be again Sunday.

“He knows how to get it done,’’ DeChambeau said. “I can definitely see there’s a different level of confidence compared to me. This is only my second time being this close to the lead. Being in the final group is a unique position for me, but I’m ready for this. I’m not scared of it. Whatever happens, it’s going to be a great experience. It’s going to teach me a lot about my nerves and confidence level.

“I took away his confidence about his game through each shot and that was pretty special. [Sunday] is going to be an interesting day for sure.’’