Politics

Trump still considering raising age to buy guns

President Trump on Wednesday said he was still considering whether to support raising the age at which a person can legally purchase a gun to 21 — despite opposition from the National Rifle Association.

“This isn’t a popular thing to say in terms of the NRA but I’m going to say it anyway. I just have to say it. You can buy the kind of weapon used in the school shooting at 18,” he said, referring to the Feb. 14 massacre of 17 people at a high school in Parkland, Florida.

“I think it’s something you have to think about,” he said at a White House meeting on gun safety with a bipartisan group of lawmakers about raising the age.

“I’ll tell you what, I’m going to give it a lot of consideration. And I’m the one bringing it up. People aren’t bringing it up because they’re afraid to bring it up.,” he continued.

The president also repeated his praise of the NRA.

“I would give very serious thought to it. The NRA is opposed to it and I’m a fan of the NRA. No bigger fan. I’m a big fan of the NRA. These are great people, great patriots. They love our country but that doesn’t mean we have to agree on everything.”