MLB

Neil Walker sounds bummed about Yankees’ Drury trade

Neil Walker may spend the season thinking about what could have been.

The former Mets infielder finished as an also-ran in the sweepstakes to join the Yankees, feeling he was “fairly close” to joining the Bombers before they traded for Brandon Drury last week.

“I thought that was a really good fit, especially playing in New York with the Mets for the time that I did, understanding what you’re getting into when you’re getting into a New York market with the media and so forth,” Walker told the New York Times Tuesday from the spring training camp for unsigned free agents.

“We don’t know if it was a money thing, but we thought we were fairly close until they made the trade. Whatever it was, they decided to hang on to money for midseason and felt like making a trade was more valuable.”

Looking for a versatile and inexpensive option to help fill in at second and third base while prospects Miguel Andujar and Gleyber Torres wait in the wings, the Yankees opted to acquire the 25-year-old Drury from the Diamondbacks in a three-team trade in which they gave up prospects Taylor Widener and Nick Solak.

Walker wishes intangibles weighed more in the Yankees’ decision.

“Maybe it’s something that’s being lost in translation with teams ��� how are we valuing guys?” Walker said. “Are we strictly valuing them on numbers, or are we not able to quantify how they’re making an impact, not only on the field but in the clubhouse? I’ve always felt like I’ve been somebody that’s been a leader. I guess in terms of dollars and cents, teams are not seeing that as a value at this point.”

The Post’s Joel Sherman reported that the Yankees seemed reticent about the 32-year-old Walker because of his inexperience at third base and his history of back injuries. Walker has played 19 career games at the hot corner while spending 1,008 games at second base.

“My understanding is I would bounce around [and] I was certainly willing to do that,” said Walker, who indicated he would have played mostly second base in addition to some third base and first base.

Walker hit .275 with an .806 OPS in 188 games with the Mets before being traded to to Brewers last August. His wait now continues to find his next home.

“I’m certainly optimistic I’ll find a spot, but it’s certainly frustrating,” Walker said. “My track record kind of speaks for itself. When I’ve been healthy I’ve been a productive big league player. When I’m healthy, I know I’m a guy that can contribute.