NFL

Jon Gruden on analytics: Raiders won’t use ‘GPS’

Jon Gruden is still stuck in the old days.

The new Raiders coach, back on the sidelines for the first time since 2008, isn’t quite ready to dive headfirst into the new era of analytics in the NFL.

“There’s a stack of analytical data — or data, however you want to say that word — that people don’t even know how to read it,” Gruden told reporters Wednesday at the NFL Combine. “It’s one thing to have the data, or data. It’s another thing to know how to read the damn thing.

“So I’m not gonna rely on GPS’ and all the modern technology. I will certainly have some people that are professional that can help me from that regard, but I still think doing things the old-fashioned way is a good way. We’re going to try to lean that way a little bit.”

After getting his start in the NFL as an offensive assistant for the 49ers in 1990, Gruden worked his way up to become the Raiders head coach from 1998-2001 and Buccaneers head coach from 2002-2008. His teams were 95-81 under his watch, including a Super Bowl win in 2002.

The 54-year-old was an ESPN analyst in between coaching stints, but it doesn’t look like he’s coming back with a newfound approach to the game.

“Man, I’m trying to throw the game back to 1998,” Gruden said.

He’s also returning to a game with a new collective bargaining agreement that restricts how much coaches can talk football and game plans with players in the offseason. This will be an adjustment.

“I always complained about that since the new CBA came into place. A lot of players would come to see me in Tampa to get their football fix,” Gruden said. “So you’re not allowed to have contact with these guys, and what’s most discouraging to me is we’ve got to make some decisions on our roster, on salaries, on players and their futures and you can’t even meet them. I don’t know these guys. I’ve never coached them, I’ve never met half of them. So that’s been very, very difficult for me, and I’ve been emotional about it at times.”