MLB

Clint Frazier feels like ‘s–t,’ and his dream is slipping away

TAMPA — Clint Frazier’s concussion symptoms refuse to allow him back on the field, and when he returns isn’t known.

Frazier ran into the left-field fence Saturday in Bradenton and hit his head while making a falling-down catch against the Pirates. That night he started to feel foggy and had a headache Sunday. By Monday the headaches had subsided and Frazier lobbied manager Aaron Boone to play.

The Yankees put him on an exercise bicycle on Tuesday to raise his heartbeat and see how his body reacted. Based on what Frazier said Wednesday morning, he doesn’t know when he will return to the lineup.

“I can’t even sit in my living room without feeling like s–t. I can’t shake the headaches,” said Frazier, who despite long odds and a crowded outfield was hell-bent on making the Opening Day roster.

“I have a goal to attain, it’s not fun watching it dwindling away. I pretty much had a headache the whole day. It’s like a pressure in the front part of my head.”

Prior to taking batting practice on Tuesday, Frazier said he was fine. That, however, didn’t last.

“Once I started to hit I started feeling foggy again,’’ said Frazier, who finished the round of BP. “It was a little foggy feeling afterward. I had a headache the rest of the day Tuesday. There are still some symptoms I have to clear just to be cleared.’’

Frazier said he would not do much on Wednesday.

“I’m just taking it slow. It’s nothing to mess around with,’’ Frazier said.

Despite Brett Gardner, Aaron Hicks, Giancarlo Stanton, Aaron Judge and Jacoby Ellsbury in the outfield, Frazier arrived in camp confident he could break camp with the Yankees. Because of the standing-room-only outfield that was always a long shot. Now, the longer Frazier is kept away from the field, slim chances become slimmer.