MLB

The Astros superstar who never was is quietly fading away

He was supposed to be a major part of the Astros’ rebuild, as significant as George Springer and Carlos Correa. He was part of that 2014 Sports Illustrated article accurately predicting Houston to win the 2017 World Series.

Except in the Astros’ magical run to winning it all in October, Mark Appel was sitting on his couch, the enormous prospect who didn’t pan out. And now the player some thought would reach the major leagues within months of getting drafted is taking an “indefinite break” from the game, he told Bleacher Report. If he never returns and fails to reach the big leagues, he would join Brien Taylor (1991, Yankees) and Steve Chilcott (1966, Mets) as the only No. 1 overall picks not to do so.

“Maybe we should all get together and have a party,” said Appel, now 26. “I don’t know what the future holds. I’m pursuing other things, but also trying to become a healthy human.”

In five minor league seasons, he produced a 5.06 ERA and 1.519 WHIP, and got as far as Triple-A. The Astros dealt him two years ago to the Phillies in the trade for closer Ken Giles.

At the moment, he is coming off shoulder inflammation he battled in 2017, the latest malady that has set him back. He had season-ending surgery for a bone spur in 2016 and dealt with soreness his first year in pro ball.

“I’m 26, I have a Stanford degree, I have many interests beyond baseball, which I still love, but I have a lot of things I care about,” he said. “I enjoy challenging my mind. My last four years in baseball have challenged my mind.”

Appel was designated for assignment by Philadelphia in November after throwing 82 Triple-A innings, in which he posted a 5.27 ERA.

“I’m a guy who loves a game, who had expectations, goals and dreams and then has had everything tumbling, and then everything was unmet,” Appel said. “Would I have loved to be pitching in the World Series? Absolutely. Some people have real struggles. I played baseball. I thought I was going to be great, and I wasn’t.”