Media

Newspaper mistakenly publishes obituary with Ed Sheeran’s face

News of Ed Sheeran’s death has been greatly exaggerated by an Icelandic newspaper.

News outlet Morgunbladid printed the 26-year-old Brit’s picture next to an obituary for an 82-year-old mechanic who worked for Swedish car giant Volvo.

The mistake likely came as a shock to the ginger crooner’s legion of fans in the music-loving Nordic nation.

And this isn’t the first time Ed has suffered an Iceland-related accident.

The chart-topping sensation revealed on the Big Top 40 radio show that he had to have skin grafts on his foot after stepping into a geyser while in the country last year.

He said: “I put my foot in a boiling geyser, like a boiling pool on top of a mountain, by mistake.

“It melted all the skin off my foot and then they had to put a skin graft on it. This was on my 25th birthday.

“They were like, ‘Don’t walk over there!’ And I was like, ‘Why?’ Then I just slipped.”

Despite news of his demise, the pop dynamo’s life and career are thriving.

Last month, the Suffolk-born singer announced that he and partner Cherry Seaborn are engaged to be married.

Ed says that he’ll stop making music in order to be a “good father”

He said: “My ambition is going to go to zero as soon as I have kids.

“I am going to be like, ‘I do not really care anymore as I have another life to take care of.’

“It is totally understandable because you have children and your ambition shifts to be like, ‘I want to be a good father.'”