College Football

Baker Mayfield is adamant: I’m not NFL’s next Johnny Manziel

Baker Mayfield maintains he is not the second coming of Johnny Manziel, as the polarizing Oklahoma quarterback defended his character ahead of Saturday’s Senior Bowl in Mobile, Ala.

“Everybody wants to portray the bad boy, the Johnny Manziel stuff, but I love the game of football,” Mayfield said Tuesday, via The Denver Post. “There’s no doubt about that. I’m an emotional player. I do anything it takes to win. I love being around my teammates, and I love leading and having responsibility.”

Mayfield, 22, was arrested last February and charged with disorderly conduct and public intoxication, in addition to fleeing and resisting arrest. He agreed to a plea deal in June.

Manziel, now 25, has become an NFL cautionary tale following a number of off-field incidents during his two seasons in Cleveland. He was accused of domestic violence by an ex-girlfriend in January 2016 and was cut by the Browns in March of the same year.

Two years later, Manziel remains on the outskirts of the league, readying for a comeback that likely will have to begin in Canada.

Mayfield, who, like Manziel, is a Heisman Trophy winner, is also expected to be drafted in the first round of April’s draft. Also like Manziel, he’s had on-field incidents, too, such as grabbing his crotch as a taunt last season.

But he’s now working on his image. While he may have the whole Hollywood lifestyle down pat, Mayfield doesn’t want anyone to think his work ethic is in question, as evidenced by his response to critics questioning his priorities after arriving late to a practice.

“Showing up late?” Mayfield tweeted Tuesday to Cleveland-based podcast Down with Damon after it was suggested he was tardy for selfish reasons.

“What would you do if your mom had gone to the hospital? Get outta here. Family before myself always.”

The site has since issued an apology, and Mayfield remains adamant his focus is family.

“Family first. Always,” Mayfield said. “Doesn’t matter what the situation is. I would never put myself before my mom. … As soon as I found out, I booked my flight home. It wasn’t about delaying measuring. I’ll measure tomorrow if it’s that big of a deal. I don’t care. Like I said, family first.”