US News

Rodman wants to wine and dine Kim Jong Un to help ease tensions

Former NBA star Dennis Rodman said he wants to drink wine with North Korean leader Kim Jong Un in order for the escalating tensions between them and the US to “settle down a bit.”

Rodman, a one-time contestant on “The Celebrity Apprentice,” told the Guardian that he wants to travel to the nuclear-armed rogue state and help solve the international conflict.

“If I can go back over there … you’ll see me talking to him, and sitting down and having dinner, a glass of wine, laughing and doing my thing,” Rodman told the paper.

“I guess things will settle down a bit and everybody can rest at ease.”

Rodman spoke to the newspaper while in China. He is hoping to take his sixth trip to the hermit kingdom amid the diplomatic standoff.

“I think a lot of people around the world … want me to go just to see if I can do something,” he said.

The former basketball player added that he knows what the despotic leader wants “more than anything.”

“I ain’t telling you,” he responded when asked for more information. “I will tell him [President Trump] when I see him.”

The State Department issued a ban on passport holders visiting North Korea after the death of Otto Warmbier in September.

Warmbier was a college student imprisoned in Pyongyang for more than a year. He died shortly after he was returned to US custody.