MLB

Brother of Yankees managerial candidate mocks sexual misconduct

Bret Boone is probably going to regret this edition of sliding into someone’s DMs.

The brother of a Yankees managerial candidate and former big leaguer himself sent a flurry of sexist remarks in Twitter direct messages to a Seattle journalist whom he claimed to not even know.  Boone, whose brother Aaron works for ESPN and recently interviewed with the Yankees for the chance to replace Joe Girardi, thought it was a good idea to mock the recent avalanche of revelations of sexual misconduct by high-profile men.

“I got sexually harrased [sic] twice today,” Boone said in a message to Stephen Cohen, a journalist for the Seattle Post-Intelligencer. “the Starbucks girl smiled at me and the woman at rite aid flirted with me.Im gettin a lawyer,unacceptable.lol”

Cohen replied, “I’m wondering why you felt like it was a good idea to make light of sexual harassment in an unsolicited message to a reporter.”

Boone was just warming up.

“Because it’s a joke and I have no clue who u are,nor do I care.Just sick of all the liberal bs and everyone all the sudden is offended.sorry that bothered u.go back to whatever you do in your pc world,and once again,I apologize if u were offended…You definitely would not be allowed to play golf in my foursome.”

A few minutes later, Boone replied again.

“Oops,just happened again, the girl at vons told me to have a good day….lol…are you serious guy.”

Cohen had no idea why Boone decided to reach out to him.

Bret Boone played for five teams and was a three-time All-Star — twice with Seattle, with whom he played from 1992-93 and again from 2001-05.

Aaron Boone interviewed with the Yankees on Nov. 17. He is one of six people to officially interview for the job to this point.