US News

Roy Moore accuser furious after ‘slanderous’ denial

A woman who accused Roy Moore of groping her when she was 14 and he was 32 has penned an impassioned letter to the disgraced pol — insisting that he stop calling her a liar.

Leigh Corfman, 53, hand-delivered her letter to AL.com on Tuesday after hearing that the Alabama Senate candidate had called her and other women’s allegations “completely false” and “malicious.”

“When you personally denounced me last night and called me slanderous names, I decided that I am done being silent,” Corfman wrote.

“What you did to me when I was 14-years old should be revolting to every person of good morals. But now you are attacking my honesty and integrity. Where does your immorality end?”

“I demand that you stop calling me a liar and attacking my character. Your smears and false denials, and those of others who repeat and embellish them, are defamatory and damaging to me and my family.”

The embattled candidate made his comments during a campaign rally in Henagar, Ala., Monday night — his first public appearance in almost two weeks. 

He gave no new insight into the allegations that have roiled his campaign, repeating that the accusations that he made unwanted romantic or sexual advances on teenage girls almost 40 years ago are “completely false.”

“I don’t know any of (the women),” he said.

“I am not getting paid for speaking up. I am not getting rewarded from your political opponents. What I am getting is stronger by refusing to blame myself and speaking the truth out loud,” Corfman’s letter states.

“The initial barrage of attacks against me voiced by your campaign spokespersons and others seemed petty so I did not respond.”

In an interview with the Washington Post published Nov. 9, Corfman said she met Moore, then an assistant district attorney, in 1979 as she waited with her mother at the courthouse.

She said he took her to his home, where he removed her clothes and touched her over her bra and underwear. He was wearing his underwear at the time, Corfman said.

“I felt like I was the one to blame,” she told NBC’s “Today” show. “I was a 14-year-old child trying to play in an adult’s world and he was 32 years old.”

Moore has defiantly denied the allegations and his campaign has begun to fight back.

In a recent ad, Republican women defend him, saying that “the establishment is trying to stop” him ahead of the Dec. 12 Senate special election.

President Trump will not travel to Alabama to campaign for Moore, but he continues to support his candidacy by assailing his Democratic opponent, Doug Jones.