NFL

‘A tough thing to see’: Giants react to new scout-team QB

At 12:18 p.m. Wednesday it became official, in startling fashion.

Eli Manning stretched on the practice field, as usual, with Geno Smith and rookie Davis Webb, and then lined up with the scout-team offense, with Smith taking the first-team reps. It was a stunning optic.

“Definitely weird,’’ Justin Pugh said. “It’s definitely a tough thing to see.’’

The scout-team quarterback runs the offense for the opposing team. It is an assignment for the last player at the position on the roster. Smith will start Sunday in Oakland and Manning will serve as the backup. The Giants want to accelerate Webb’s development and thus he will receive increased work with their offense. That left scout-team work for Manning, and also some for Webb.

“It was very strange,’’ safety Landon Collins said. “I even asked [offensive coordinator Mike Sullivan] is Eli going to be throwing scout-teams reps. He told me no. I get down in my stance, I see 10.

“It kind of threw me off. I said we back in training camp or something? It was definitely different.”

Slowly, the Giants are coming to grips with the demotion of Manning, something no one in the locker room ever expected to see.

“That’s just a great example of nobody’s safe,’’ linebacker Devon Kennard said. “You should never get comfortable. It’s something I never thought I’d see happen.’’

It has happened.

“It’s obviously emotional,’’ coach Ben McAdoo said. “A lot of reactions out there. I get the reactions and I understand the emotions. I understand the responses. It’s been a tough couple days. We feel we have to put our emotions aside and make the best decision for the New York Football Giants and I’m at peace with the decision.’’

Manning’s teammates do not sound at peace with this decision.

“You know that in the NFL and you’re not winning games, changes are going to be made and this obviously lets you know no one’s untouchable, because if anyone is untouchable it would be Eli Manning,’’ Pugh said. “I used to say I’ve seen it all but now I’ve seen it all.’’

Pugh admitted he would not be able to handle this as professionally as Manning.

“I definitely would be a lot more outspoken, but that’s not Eli,’’ Pugh said. “Eli’s is … he’s Eli Manning. It should be an adjective.’’

Manning huddles up with Davis Webb and Geno Smith.Charles Wenzelberg

Collins said he expects Manning to the Giants’ starting quarterback next season and that he “has a lot of ball left in him.’’

Jason Pierre-Paul said this news “was all a shock to us,’’ and as the longest-tenured defensive player on the team, Manning as the starting quarterback is all he has ever known.

“I’ve been playing with Eli for eight years now,’’ Pierre-Paul said. “I was honored to win the Super Bowl with him and he’s a two-time MVP. Check his stats, record, his whole résumé. He’s been here before me and he’s literally the last one standing.’’

Manning was seen early in the morning sitting with Webb in the team cafeteria, helping the rookie prepare for the day.

“Eli — he’s a pro,’’ McAdoo said. “He’s a Hall of Famer, tremendous teammate and competitor and he showed up today doing everything he can do to help the other quarterbacks and the offense and the team get better and have a chance to win on Sunday.’’