NBA

Chandler Parsons’ nasty feud with ex-NBAer over Grizzlies firing

Former NBA small forward Stephen Jackson is making David Fizdale’s firing all about Chandler Parsons.

On Monday, Jackson took to Instagram expressing his displeasure with the 7-12 Grizzlies decision to ax Fizdale after two seasons in Memphis, calling out Parsons in the process.

“U give 100 million to a guy that don’t even care about the game or winning but u expect a coach to make a miracle happen,” Jackson, 39, shared with his 120,000 followers, along with a lengthy, but stinging caption that included, “Fire Chandler Parsons.”

Parsons, 29, who signed a four-year, $95 million contract with the Grizzlies last July, caught wind of Jackson’s comment and immediately fired back.

“It’s wild to me that someone who has been in my shoes, knows how hard it is to get here, and knows how bad injuries suck, to hate so hard,” Parsons replied. “I don’t love the game cuz i had 3 knee surgeries? u make no sense and sound bitter. nba is a brotherhood. stop hatin.”

Parsons has been severely diminished by knee injuries since signing the mega-contract, playing in 51 games of a possible 100 in a season-plus with the team. Parsons was booed by fans during the Grizzlies’ home opener, and he called the reaction “tasteless.” He has not tried to hide his partying lifestyle, which perhaps has led to the fan dissatisfaction.

Jackson, perhaps best known for his role in the infamous Malice at the Palace brawl, retired from the NBA in July 2015 after a 14-season career. He’s now an ESPN analyst.

“This is not a beef,” Jackson began, “I have passion for the game and I Love this game. I hate to see it not appreciated. I hate to see a good coach get fired bkuz he cares more than the players. Facts. All basketball players ain’t kool I can count my NBA Real brothers on my hands. Facts. Not a yes man. #GBG it ain’t just him. It a lot that don’t care. Respect it or check it. Love to all. Get healthy though @chandlerparsons.”

Jackson joined the growing list of NBA players fuming over Fizdale’s termination, including LeBron James and Dwyane Wade, who won back-to-back championships with the former assistant coach during the 2012 and 2013 seasons with the Miami Heat.

“I need answers!!! WTF,” Wade responded to the initial announcement.

“I need some answers,” James tweeted moment later. “Feels like my man was a fall guy.”

Even without a reply from Parsons, Jackson closed his case with a final message on social media.

View this post on Instagram

#GBG Get BetterGang.

A post shared by Stephen Jackson Sr. (@_stak5_) on