NBA

This is Isaiah Whitehead’s chance to prove he belongs

Isaiah Whitehead was racking up miles on the shuttle between the Nets and their Long Island G-League affiliate in the opening weeks of the season.

But D’Angelo Russell’s injury may have bought the Seton Hall product and Brooklyn native a more stable future, at least for the time being.

Whitehead is in the mix, along with Caris LeVert and Sean Kilpatrick, to serve as the Nets’ backup point guard moving forward behind starter Spencer Dinwiddie.

“Every time I get on the court, I just try to compete defensively,” Whitehead said. “I feel like offense will come. I’m not really looking to score 30, I’m just looking to compete and whatever happens, happens.”

Whitehead played 73 games and started 26 last year with the Nets but has been inactive for seven of their first 15 games this year. But the 22-year-old believes he’s better off handling those ups and downs this year.

“I think I’ve matured a lot since last year,” Whitehead said. “I don’t think I would have been able to handle that last year. But I’ve matured a lot, knowing it’s for the better. … I think I reacted well to it.”

Whitehead has played in four of the last five games for the Nets and will continue to battle with minutes up for grabs.

While the bumpy road between G-League and NBA this year has been a test of his maturity, it’s also been a test of his memory.

“It’s almost like remembering two sets of plays and 10 different teammates,” he said. “It’s really just knowing where you are and knowing your personnel.”


The Nets have recorded 26 and 27 assists in their past two games as their ball movement and decision making has improved. Coach Kenny Atkinson was especially pleased with the first half Friday in a 118-107 win over the Jazz.

“Generally [we’re] trending better,” Atkinson said. “It’s trusting what we do, trusting your teammates, trusting in the offense, knowing when to pick your spots.”


Trevor Booker appeared to hurt his ankle in the second quarter Friday but played through it. Atkinson said Saturday that he came out all right. Jarrett Allen (foot) was also a full practice participant.