NFL

Jets’ Jeremy Kerley after official ban: I did ‘nothing wrong’

The NFL made it official on Monday – suspending Jets wide receiver Jeremy Kerley for four games for violating the league’s performance-enhancing drug policy.

Kerley’s suspension was reported last week, but the NFL did not announce it until Monday. The suspension begins with this week’s game against the Buccaneers. He is eligible to return to the Jets on Dec. 11, a day after the team plays the Broncos.

Kerley released a statement through his agent, denying he ever knowingly took a banned substance.

“I was shocked by a positive test for Turinabol, as I have never knowingly taken any banned substances,” the statement reads. “I am 5’9” tall and 180 pounds, and I have never used steroids in my life. I’m a good athlete but anyone can look at my body composition and tell that I’m not a steroid user. While I did not have enough time prior to the deadline to resolve this case, I fully intend to investigate this matter until I am able to figure out what caused the positive test, because I know that I have done nothing wrong. When I find out what substance was tainted, I will pursue all remedies at that time because this is not right. I have and will always be a clean player, and I look forward to returning to the Jets to play against the Saints next month.”

Kerley has 22 catches for 217 yards and one touchdown this season for the Jets. He re-joined the Jets in September after getting released by the 49ers.

Coach Todd Bowles said the Jets have known about the looming suspension “for quite some time.” According to a source, the failed test occurred while Kerley was still with the 49ers.

Bowles said he’s confident in rookies ArDarius Stewart and Chad Hansen, but the team may look to add another receiver.

“We still got Stewart and Hansen playing good football,” Bowles said. “Those guys will get a lot more repetitions, and we’ll look into some other gymnastics of maybe bringing somebody else up or bringing somebody else in.”

Kerley also served as the team’s punt returner. Bowles said it is too soon to know what they will do at that spot.


Buccaneers wide receiver Mike Evans was suspended for one game by the NFL on Monday for hitting Saints cornerback Marshon Lattimore on Sunday. That means Evans will miss Sunday’s game with the Jets unless he appeals.


Jets quarterback Josh McCown will be facing another one of his former teams this week, but he did not get sentimental about it Monday. McCown spent the 2014 season with the Buccaneers, but it did not go well. He went 1-10 as the starter that season for a team that finished 2-14.

“That was a really rough year,” McCown said Monday. “So, for me it will be like just another trip. I’ve kind of moved on past that. I’ve done that with different spots in different places throughout my career. I’ve kind of had some practice at it. It will just be another game.”